The vegetarian life

I haven’t written in a while, but I’ve been doing some research on a very underappreciated way of living.  I’ve been delving into the the life of a vegetarian. Tired of countless failed resolutions, fad diets, exercise binges, poor body image, and…..well……just plain tired, I’ve started looking at my health in a new light.  I have never been one to eat a lot of meat to begin with and my main choices were generally chicken or turkey.  So in a way I have played with the idea of becoming a vegetarian.  What really sparked my interest to quit eating animal products was the movie Food, Inc.  It is a wonderful documentary that showcases exactly how animals are treated, housed, fed, slaughtered, and processed.  It was actually pretty disturbing to watch and I immediately began telling people about the brutality of the meat industry.  I would definitely recommend watching it, it will change the way you look at a burger (or any meat). However, I still needed more fuel to my debate against eating animal products.  I realized most people don’t realize what the process entails and have no idea what they are actually eating with they cook up that burger or steak. 

A friend turned me on to Alicia Siliverstone’s new book titled, “The Kind Diet”.  In this book she discusses every reason to switch to a vegan or vegetarian lifestyle.  She includes information on meat processing, health risks, nutrition aspects of plant based vs. animal based, and much more.  It is a two in one deal with part of the book being informational and the other part being a cookbook with some really great recipes.  Reading this book, researching on the internet, and talking to other vegans around town solidified my decision to revamp my eating habits and become a vegetarian. 

Now I use the term vegetarian and not vegan because vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. This grouping includes vegans and the various sub- categories of vegetarian (there are many); however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.  A vegan on the other hand is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.  I have not gone strictly vegan…yet.  I am working my way into it, but currently my downfalls are fish and cheese.  Cheese, I have found, is a hard thing to give up and also a hard thing to subsitute for.  However, I also feel like a hypocrite because I no longer drink cow’s milk and have switched to soy.  So eventually I will also reject cheese from my diet as well. Some known benefits of a plant based diet are that “Vegetarian diets offer a number of nutritional benefits, including lower levels of saturated fat, cholesterol, and animal protein, as well as higher levels of carbohydrates, fiber, magnesium, potassium, folate, and antioxidants such as vitamins C and E and phytochemicals. Vegetarians have been reported to have lower body mass indices than nonvegetarians, as well as lower rates of death from ischemic heart disease; vegetarians also show lower blood cholesterol levels; lower blood pressure; and lower rates of hypertension, type 2 diabetes, and prostate and colon cancer.”–American Dietetic Association, June 2003 position paper

 So I wanted to update everyone on my newly adopted lifestyle.  I am now eating to nourish my body and mind and living healthy!  I will keep updates on my progress into veganism, health benefits, and great recipes so keep checking back!

http://www.chooseveg.com/vegan-health.asp , www.thekindlife.com

One thought on “The vegetarian life

  1. Thank you for your sharing. You are not alone in this path to change other people diet to become vegetarian. I am sure that with more proper realization and education, more people will become vegetarian.

    With the climate change that’s happening faster then ever. Becoming a vegetarian infact is the fastest way to improve the climate condition.

Leave a Reply

