Happy Easter!

This was the first Easter in quite a while that I celebrated with my family.  During college I usually wouldn’t go home and the past few years Chris (my boyfriend) and I have been doing our own thing.  This past weekend we drove up to visit my family for the weekend and had a great time! Even though I don’t eat eggs anymore, I still had a blast helping my mom color them.  I have to admit, I ran into a few glitches this weekend with it being my first holiday as a vegan.  I expected this, but still maintained to enjoy the weekend animal product free! As a treat I made homemade chocolate peanut butter cups to share with everyone (and the critics) how being vegan does not mean you can’t enjoy really great food.  I didn’t tell anyone they were completely vegan until they were finished licking all the gooeyness off of the paper cups.  They loved them and I hope you do too!

chocolate peanut butter cups

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups (courtesy of The Kind Diet)

1/2 C   Earth Balance butter

3/4 C  All Natural crunchy peanut butter (I used 365 brand)

3/4 C  Graham Cracker crumbs (I crushed my own organic graham crackers)

1/4 C  Granulated Sugar

1 C  Vegan chocolate chips or carob chips

1/4 C  Soy, Rice, or Nut Milk

1/4 C  chopped pecans, peanuts, almonds, or walnuts

Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat

Stir in the peanut butter, graham cracker crumbs and sugar and mix well

Remove the mixture from the heat and evenly divide the mixture between the 12 muffin cups

Combine the chocolate and milk in another saucepan, stir over medium heat until the chocolate has melted

Spoon the chocolate evenly over the peanut butter mixture

Topped with the chopped nuts

Place in the refrigerator to set for at least 2 hours before serving

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

