The workout hangover

I’m taking a break from my debunking vegan myths series to address something I am dealing with today……….soreness. Being sore after a workout sucks, but it happens and from time to time it’s a good thing. I have learned to embrace the soreness. It’s a good reminder the next day of the great workout you gave your body the day before. When you wake up the next morning with a little muscle soreness remind yourself that you are getting stronger and healthier. Take some time to do some light exercise and really stretch out your muscles.
Now I want to stress that I mentioned a “LITTLE” muscle soreness can be good for you. Not being able to move the day following a workout means you overdid it. This is what sets people up to hate exercising and to give up on it quickly. Many people jump into working out, push themselves to the max, become sore, quit working out till many weeks or months later, and decide to give working out another shot only to repeat the same cycle all over again. Don’t set yourself up for failure. If you haven’t worked out in a while, or have never exercised, don’t try to do what everyone else is doing in the gym or push yourself to jump into a 5k. Begin a gradual workout routine and continue to build. Know you limits and listen to your body. If something hurts, then stop, if you are going at an intensity to where you are having trouble breathing, then dial it back. Most importantly, don’t get discouraged. When beginning a workout regimen you are likely to experience some initial soreness, but once you are working out consistently and your body becomes stronger, the after workout soreness will cease and you will begin to experience the wonderful benefits of exercise.

I face muscle soreness from time to time if I try a new workout, or take a break from working out and then begin again. Today my soreness is due to trying to complete P90X. I started a couple of months back and was doing great………… until I took a couple of weeks off. I started it back up yesterday and I am definitely feeling soreness today, but it’s a good amount of soreness. I know if I gradually get back into it, my soreness will go away and I will reach my goal of completing the 90 day series. I had a similar experience a year ago when I set out to run my first half marathon. I have never been much of a runner and never thought I would be able to run more than three miles in my entire life. Even through some initial frustration and soreness, I kept at it and completed my first half marathon!! So don’t give up on your fitness goals, you will get there!

Leave a Reply

