Garden of Eating

I was finally able to get my garden in between rain storms this weekend. This is my very first garden and I am so excited about it! I started small for fear I may not be good at it and I didn’t want to ruin a ton of plants. I also don’t have a lot of room in my backyard. So here’s the lineup:
2 tomato plants
2 bell pepper plants
2 cucumber plants
rosemary
cilantro
basil

I figured tomatoes, cucumbers, and bell peppers are the veggies I use most often and also the easiest to grow (I’m hoping).

I have my little garden temporarily barracaded with patio furniture right now because this guy likes to trample through it. In all fairness he hasn’t ever had restrictions on where he can and cannot roam in the backyard, but I’m very protective of my little plants.

I also went grocery shopping this past weekend and I definitely cannot wait until I have my own veggies growing and I don’t have to buy them! So wish me luck. I’ll keep you updated on the growing process and if anyone has any suggestions, I would love to hear them. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Garden of Eating

  1. I am growing my own veggies this year too and this is the first time I am doing it on my own and outside. Let’s wish each other luck shall we? I love your little garden and I hope it works out well. We have had rain, wind and cold here so mine are in those little plastic trays and I am starting romas, rainbow and cherry tomatoes along with basil and lettuce. Alot of everything. I’m also planting some poppy’s because I discovered I LOVE poppy’s and they come back every year so that’s perfect. I have little itty bitty sorouts coming up form my little dirt pods so I am very excited. Did you use compost?

    • That’s great that you are gardening too! I used an organic gardening soil I found at Home Depot actually. It’s my first try at this gardening thing so I figure it will be my trial and error year (hopefully with few errors). Good luck to you on your garden! I agree, every inch my plants grow I get more and more excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

