The Critic

Isn’t it crazy how hard women are on themselves? Even the most confident woman has insecurities that make her self conscious. But who can blame us? We have been bombarded our entire lives with images, media, celebrities, and models of what we are “supposed” to look like. Did you know that hardly any women are a size 2? We diet, workout like crazy, starve ourselves to attain this body image that is so unrealistic. The average woman is a size 12……size 12! We are made to feel bad if we are over a size 6, let alone be a size 12. In fact, most stores refer to that as “plus size”. I love the “Real Beauty” campaign by Dove and wish there were more role models out there, especially for young girls. But after years of ingrained images, how do we quiet our inner critic?

This is something I have struggled with most of my life and especially during spring with bathing suit season just around the corner. The fear of looking fat or people seeing your “flaws” (that only you see) makes most women afraid of social gatherings that revolve around a pool or the beach. I used to let my insecurities hold me back from enjoying great times with friends in fear of being judged or criticized. I am just now realizing that the only one judging is my own inner critic. To think I wasted so much time feeling bad about myself instead of having fun. I am now starting to think of my body in a different way. I now think of all that my body can do for me. I exercise, eat right and take care of myself. I am starting to let go of the critical thoughts and concentrate on how strong and healthy I am. I feel great after a workout because I feel stronger instead of thinking about how many calories I may or may not have burned off. The thing to remember is life is too short to get hung up on the little things. I vow to ignore my inner negativity and let my true self shine through….all swimsuit season long 🙂

“People often say that ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder,’ and I say that the most liberating thing about beauty is realizing that you are the beholder. This empowers us to find beauty in places where others have not dared to look, including inside ourselves.”
Salma Hayek

Have you experience set backs due to insecurities? If so how have you dealt with them and surpassed your own inner critic?

Leave a Reply

