Working out and refueling

Today’s workout was a nice run in the park. I really want to get back into my running shape like I was for my half marathon last year so I am trying to push myself more on my runs. Right now I am running 4 miles and I have to really push myself to get to 4 miles. It’s crazy, and a little frustrating, that I lose my running endurance so quickly. So today I pushed my way through my run and then continued to walk another mile after that. I was beat and could not wait to get home, shower, and get to my delicious breakfast I had waiting for me. After runs, I feel more of a need to refuel than when I do weight workouts. I know breakfast is the most important meal of the day because, like the name, you need to “break the fast” and get your metabolism going for the day. Especially after a workout I was needing some fuel. So, I present to you…..Blueberry Vegan Overnight Oats 🙂

I adapted this recipe from Angela on the Oh She Glows website. I have been wanting to try vegan overnight oats for a while now and finally remembered to prepare them the night before. This was so ridiculously good. I usually cook my oats, but this way was a nice change of pace and felt a lot lighter in my stomach. I will definitely be making this again for breakfast.

Blueberry Vegan Overnight Oats
1/3 cup oats
3/4 cup almond milk
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp chia seeds
1/4 cup blueberries

Directions: Stir all ingredients together, cover and refrigerate overnight. In the morning give the oats a quick stir and enjoy! Quick and easy and oh so delicious!

Leave a Reply

