Summoning motivation

You’ve geared up, summoned your inner motivation, bought the workout clothes and gym membership and have dove into a workout regimen. Things are going great as you watch what you eat and see your confidence and energy levels soar. Then you hit a road block. Maybe it’s a piece of birthday cake, a family cookout, vacation, or “just one of those days” and now since you believe you have blown your diet you eat more junk, skip a workout, and that one little mishap has carried over into a week full of them and your running shoes have been sitting lonesome in the corner.

This is a very common scenario for many people and one that I tend to easily fall into. I notice if I go a few days without working out, my eating habits worsen, and my motivation spirals down so far that I can’t even see a glimpse of it. Why is it that we let one little road block affect entire weeks or months of progress? It’s normal to have situations where you stray from your healthy eating habits from time to time,after all no one’s perfect. The important thing is to not look at it like a road block, but as a small detour to your end goal. Besides, giving in to your cravings every once in a while is okay as long as you don’t overdo it. I’ve found that the more you try to restrict yourself, the more likely you are to go overboard when you finally do give in.

However, I’m not perfect and I struggle with regaining motivation and getting myself back on track. Since this is something I am currently working on, I wanted to share my goals and motivation tips with all of you.

1. My Goal = Stop thinking of healthy eating as a “diet”. Begin to think of it as just the way I eat. Remove the word “diet” from my mindset. Eat to be healthy, exercise to be healthy. Focus less on body image and more on how I feel.
( I think we get so caught up on the word “diet” that we let it affect our entire lives. It brings about anxiety and the feeling of restriction. Eat to enjoy life 🙂

2. Do something active. When you have taken a few steps backward from your routine, don’t wait until tomorrow or next week to try to get back on track. Begin today with even a short workout. Something as simple as taking the dog for a 10 minute walk can help you to regain focus.

3. Plan a healthy meal. Even if you have eaten junk for most of the day, you can turn it all around and help yourself feel better with a healthy dinner. Try a new healthy recipe or just eat some greens, whole grains, and lean protein. A healthy end to today will help increase your chance for a healthy start to tomorrow.

4. Drink water. Aim for 8-10 glasses of water throughout the day. Water is refreshing, filling and will help flush out toxins from your body.

5. Think positive. Accept that you are not perfect and move on. Ignore the inner critic and focus on the positives of every day. This is one I sometimes have a lot of trouble with, but one that I am working on. It may help to keep a small notebook or journal with you and write down positive things throughout the day, especially when you find yourself leaning towards negative thoughts.

Yesterday I began my journey of getting myself back on track. It didn’t go as well as I would have liked it to, but every small step counts and today I will be incorporating these “get back on track” tips. Remember, every small step really does count because it is a small step in the right direction. So stay positive, stay happy and enjoy everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

