Running is a mind game

This past week I have started to develop a self-defeating attitude towards running. For some reason I have not been able to increase my mileage over the past couple of weeks. I have been steadily running 3-4 miles three times a week, but find myself struggling on many days just to make it to three miles. So, I decided since I haven’t run a race in a while that I needed to sign up for one pronto. I have felt frustrated with my runs in the past and have found that if I run in a race, even a short one, then I immediately feel better and more positive. When it comes to races I push myself, and find the competition of keeping up with the people in front of me a huge boost. So a few days ago I found a race close to my house and signed up. It was a 5k to raise money for Pets Without Parents, so it was a feel good race as well 🙂

This morning I woke up feeling excited. I get so pumped on race days, mostly due to nerves, axiety, excitement…a whole slew of feelings. To my surprise, Chris was up bright and early and wide awake so he decided to bring our dog Cooper and come to the race with me! Races are so much more fun when you have someone to go with you, even if he wasn’t running I was glad to have him and Coop there to cheer me on.

Run with the Pack 5k race

I set out on this race with the mindset of just doing a fun 5k. I didn’t have goal set of what time I wanted to finish in, I just wanted to get myself back in the race mode and prove to myself that I can run 3.2 miles just fine. Running is a mental sport and I think many times I let my thoughts get the best of me. Races help me to regain confidence in myself and my abilities.
So the horn sounded and I was off…

Here I am coming in to the finish. I was all by myself, which helped me just focus on the finish line ahead. To my surprise, I looked at the time coming in and I actually set a personal record! I finished in the top ten females with a time of around 25 minutes!! (still waiting on official times) I couldn’t believe it, but I was so excited 😀

This just goes to show that you can’t let a few negative thoughts control your abilities. Running is mind over matter and you can do anything you set your mind to. Be confident, you are stronger than you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

