Sugar is my drug and I got high last night

Yesterday just happened to be one of those days and I was wanting sweets. Not just any sweet treat….chocolate….and lots of it. First, let’s take a moment to revisit a blog post I wrote a while back on the effects of sugar.

“….Sugar, for some people, is like crack. This sounds extreme, but processed sugars and carbohydrates, which turn into sugar, cause a rise in the insulin level in the blood. This also raises the endorphins level, a natural mood upper in the brain, and makes you feel good. The result is a chemical high, mentally…..”

Nevertheless, I wanted sugar. Sometimes you just need a little indulgence. So the chocolate parade began…

Dessert x3 🙂


Trader Joe’s Fair Trade Dark Chocolate = heaven

Vegan Chocolate-Avocado cupcakes (recipe to follow at the bottom….these were oh so good and led to creation #3)

Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake 😀
The layers of this consisted of vegan chocolate-avocado cupcake, fresh strawberries, cashew cream whipped topping, repeat!

Ok, so these weren’t all consumed in one sitting, but throughout the day I managed to put a dent into that dark chocolate bar, eat a cupcake after baking, and devour the shortcake after dinner. By the time I went to bed my mind was racing from all the ups and down of the sugar highs throughout the day. I couldn’t decide if I was tired or ready to go for a run. It was a weird feeling and I was reminded of the evil that is sugar.

Now, I’m very sensitive to sugar, especially now since I have cut back on my sugar intake, so even consuming organic, cane sugar and unprocessed sugar products get me going. Eventually I experienced the crash and fell sound asleep. This morning, however, was another story. Remember yesterday when I said I jumped out of bed with my alarm ready to run and start my day? Well…not so much today. Today is what I call a sugar hangover. Therefore today will be spent consuming large amounts of water, green smoothies and clean food to get my body functioning properly again. Wish me luck!

Vegan Chocolate-Avocado Cupcakes (adapted from Joy the Baker)

Ingredients:
3 cups whole wheat flour
6 Heaping Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 cup brown rice syrup or agave nectar
1/2 cup cane sugar
1/4 cup safflower oil (can use vegetable or canola)
1/2 cup soft avocado, well mashed, about 1 medium avocado
1 cup almond milk
1 cup water
2 Tablespoons white vinegar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cupcake pans with wrappers.

2. Sift together all of the dry ingredients except the sugar. Set aside.

3. Mix all the wet ingredients together in a bowl, including the super mashed avocado.

4. Add sugar into the wet mix and stir.

5. Mix the wet with the dry all at once, and beat with a whisk (by hand) until smooth.

6. Spoon batter into cupcake pans. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “Sugar is my drug and I got high last night

Leave a Reply

