Garlic Scapes

Aren’t these funny little things? I had never heard of garlic scapes before until I received some in my Nature’s Garden Delivery. I generally use a lot of garlic when cooking, but never knew it came in another form besides the bulb. So naturally I was excited to try them out and I did a little investigating about them. I found a recipe on another blog for garlic scape pesto, so thanks to NGD and Angela I had the beginning of a really great meal 🙂



Garlic Scape Pesto

Ingredients:
2-3 garlic scapes
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup spinach
chopped fresh basil (to taste)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 cup walnuts
salt and pepper

Directions:
1. Place garlic scapes, spinach, basil, nutritional yeast, walnuts, salt and pepper into a food processor and pulse a few times to chop up the ingredients.
2. As the food processor is running, gradually add the oil and process until smooth.
3. Taste and adjust as necessary

I must say, you have to like garlic to like this pesto. Garlic scapes are super garlicky, but this makes for an amazing pesto. I wanted to try it on everything! Honestly you really can put it on just about anything from sandwiches to veggies to couscous. I chose to make some brown rice and have garlic scape pesto rice for dinner. I added some chopped tomatoes to the dish and sprinkled some vegan parm on top! It turned out great, but have a mint nearby afterward because you will probably be able to scare off vampires a mile away 😉


Garlic Scape Pesto Rice

Leave a Reply

