Operation eat produce


So between not eating at home much this past weekend and leaving for vacation this Saturday, I have deemed this week: Operation eat produce! I still have a ton of fruits and vegetables from my Nature’s Garden Delivery last week and sadly I discovered an avocado that didn’t get to be enjoyed đŸ˜¦ I’m always bummed when I find something that didn’t get used up quick enough. I hate waste! Especially if it’s an avocado! So I’m on a mission to not let anything else get thrown out without at least some of it being consumed. My NGD delivery provided me with a humongous head of green cabbage. I don’t know how I will use up the entire thing, but a strong effort will be made. I also have some carrots left so naturally I thought….coleslaw! Vegan coleslaw that is.


Vegan Coleslaw

I have to say, this was one of the best coleslaws I have ever tasted! I loved this recipe. Unfortunately, I only ended up using 1/4 of the head of cabbage so I will be looking to put cabbage in other dishes this week.

Ingredients:
8 cups shredded cabbage (it seems like a lot, but it will reduce quite a bit once it’s mixed with the dressing)
1 cup shredded carrot
3 radishes, shredded
1/2 cup shredded apple
2/3 cup vegan mayonnaise
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (or other white vinegar)
2 tablespoons safflower oil
2 tablespoons honey
1/2 teaspoon celery salt
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

Directions:
1) Place shredded cabbage, carrots, and apple in a large bowl.

2) In a smaller bowl combine vegan mayonnaise, vinegar, oil, honey, celery salt, and pepper. Whisk until smooth.

3) Pour the dressing mixture onto the slaw and mix.

4) Let the mixture set in the fridge for a bit and check to see if you need to add more dressing or more cabbage after it soaks in. Adjust as necessary.

For my second “use up produce” creation, I made a potato and green bean salad with miso dressing. This was delicious. I’m usually not a green bean fan, but I had some to use up and was not going to let them waste away. The dressing is a bit tangy, but I really liked it and thought it went well with the ingredients. It also helped to give the potatoes great flavor and kept them from tasting dry, like plain potatoes can sometimes be. I want to note that this recipe is great if you make it warm like I did for dinner the other night and was also really good cold when I ate some leftovers for lunch yesterday. So you could potentially make this ahead of time and serve it cold. It would be a unique dish to take to a cookout! I wish I would have thought about this recipe before our 4th of July cookouts.


Potato and green bean salad with miso dressing (adapted from the Conscious Cook)

Ingredients:
1 cup fresh green beans, blanched in boiling water for 2 minutes
2 cups tiny potatoes or fingerling potatoes, boiled for 15-20 minutes, then sliced or cut in half
1 cup baby spinach
2 Tbsp yellow miso paste
3 Tbsp rice vinegar
1 Tbsp agave nectar
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
1/2 shallot, minced
1 garlic clove minced
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 cup safflower oil

Directions:
1. Place the miso paste, vinegar, agave nectar, salt, pepper, shallot, garlic, mustard, lemon juice, and 1 Tbsp water in a food processor and pulse to combine. With the motor running, slowly add the oil in a thin stream until the vinaigrette is emulsified.

2. Place the spinach, potatoes, and beans in a large bowl, drizzle with the vinaigrette and toss to coat.

Still more produce to use, so stay tuned for more recipes!

Leave a Reply

