A Salad From My Garden :)

I am so excited to say that I have successfully grown vegetables!! My garden is doing really well and I am beginning to have an abundance of cucumbers, tomatoes and red bell peppers coming in. Not to mention that my herbs are like trees now!

My very own home grown cukes!

Nice and ripe tomatoes 🙂

These pictures are only the beginning. I have already picked quite a few cucumbers and I have many more tomatoes waiting to be picked and used. I’m seeing homemade salsa and pasta sauce in the near future 🙂

I can’t tell you how good it feels to walk out to my backyard and pick fresh vegetables to use when cooking. The taste of a fresh cucumber or tomato is so much better than store bought produce and I’m saving money! Last night I made a super healthy and light salad to go with dinner. I had an avocado that was begging to be used, so naturally I thought “hello cucumber, tomato and avocado salad” 😉


Cucumber, Tomato, and Avocado Salad

Ingredients:
2 Fresh, Ripe Tomatoes
1 Medium to Large Cucumber
1 Avocado
1/3 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/4 Cup Balsamic Vinegar
Sea Salt
Fresh Ground Pepper

Directions:
1. Chop cukes, tomatoes, and avocado into hunks and combine in bowl
2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the EVOO, balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste
3. Drizzle dressing over top of the veggies and gently mix until all the veggies are coated with some of the dressing
4. Let sit in the fridge for 30 minutes before serving to let marinate and the flavors combine

This is only the beginning of my garden vegetable recipes so keep watching for more to come!

One thought on “A Salad From My Garden :)

Leave a Reply

