Me and my food processor

I am happy to announce that I finally bought a food processor! I have been needing one for so long and actually ruined my last blender 😦 trying to force it to do all the duties I needed from a food processor. So I told myself that I would not do that to my new blender, that it needed support and could not perform all the tasks I was requiring by itself. So now FP and Sir Blends work together to make some delicious food! (yes, I have given my appliances personalities, so sue me 😉 )

My immediate reaction after acquiring my new processor was to make homemade hummus. My last blender broke while I was trying to force it to make hummus, so I could not wait to try new recipes with the FP.

Look at how well this baby blends 🙂

Tre’s Classic Hummus

Ingredients:
1 can organic chick peas drained and rinsed
1/4 cup water
1/3 cup tahini
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 tsp minced garlic
pinch of sea salt
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Directions:
1. Place all ingredients except the EVOO into a food processor and process until mixed well.
2. With processor running, gradually add the EVOO in a steady stream.
3. Taste and adjust as necessary. May need to add another pinch of salt or a little more EVOO to get the consistency that you desire.
4. Enjoy with veggies, crackers, pita bread, and on sandwiches 🙂

The hummus turned out so good. This recipe really is a basic recipe, but I find it to be the most versatile as far as serving it with different items or putting it on sandwiches. However, feel free to add basil, roasted red peppers, kalamata olives, pine nuts, or anything else you wish. The Classic Hummus recipe can be your blank canvas for various flavors to be created.

Now on to the next recipe….
I’m a huge fan of pestos and used to enjoy making them before I became vegan when I would add in copious amounts of parmesan cheese to the mixture. Now, it’s taken some experimenting, but I swear this is the best Vegan Pesto that I have ever made or tasted. I recommend you trying it. You will realize that you do not need all of the cheese to make a pesto taste good. This recipe tastes good and is good for you!

The Best Vegan Pesto

Ingredients:
2 cups baby spinach
1/4 chopped fresh basil
1/3 cup walnuts
1 Tbsp minced garlic
2 Tbsp nutritional yeast flakes
Sea salt and fresh ground pepper
1/2 cup EVOO

Directions:
1. Place all ingredients except for the EVOO into a food processor and process until mixed well.
2. With processor running gradually add the EVOO in a steady stream until well combined.
3. Add salt and pepper to taste and process until smooth.

The nutritional yeast flakes give it a nice cheesy, nutty flavor and I absolutely loved the taste of the fresh basil. This pesto also packs a nutritional punch with vitamins, omegas, healthy fats, and protein. I would recommend trying this pesto out on just about anything. I have put it on pastas, rice, and sandwiches and it was great on all three! Definitely the best pesto ever 😀

So far I am really enjoying my FP. I went with the Hamilton Beach brand because of the price. When going online the reviews were mixed, but so far it has been working wonderfully for me (fingers crossed). Maybe someday I will be able to afford a KitchenAid 😉

One thought on “Me and my food processor

  1. You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation however I
    find this matter to bee actually something which I believe I’d by
    no means understand. It sort of feels too complicated
    and extremely vast for me. I am looking forward on your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the grasp
    of it!

Leave a Reply

