Farmer’s Market Saturday


One of my favorite things to do during the summer is to hit up a farmer’s market on Saturday morning. Unfortunately, my weekends this summer have been so busy that I haven’t had time to make it to any. Finally today, I woke up, made my green smoothie and I was out the door to the North Market’s Farmer’s Market πŸ™‚ I usually like to venture out of the city to more rural farmer’s markets, but I had heard good things about the North Market’s. I have to say, I was completely overwhelmed when I pulled into the parking lot. It took me forever to park due to the massive crowd and everything was crammed into a very small space. This is not the experience I was looking for on my first Saturday out to a farmer’s market. When I think about attending a farmer’s market, I think about slowly meandering through the market, taking time to look around at the different venders. I like for it to be a relaxing experience and that is not what I received today. It was very chaotic and I felt like I was rushing through, grabbing produce as fast as I could.

As crazed as it was this morning, I did end up with some pretty good produce that I am excited out using this week πŸ™‚ My purchases consisted of 6 ears of corn, 4 patty pan squash, a bunch of little cucumbers (to make homemade pickles!), a quart of blackberries, and a small loaf of fresh wheat bread! There were a ton of amazing looking flowers, but honestly, I have been able to find cheaper ones at Trader Joes. Last week, I found one of my favorite kind of flowers and bought a bunch for only $3.99!

Gladiolus flowers

<
Patty pan squash are so cute!

All in all it was a pretty successful day, but I think next time I will go out of the city to another farmer's market. I'll save the North Market for just going and grabbing lunch. It is a wonderful place to eat some great food πŸ™‚

Have a good Saturday everyone!

2 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Saturday

  1. It’s funny you posted this because I actually just got home from the Farmer’s Market! We have a pretty good one here in Billings, Montana. They close off about 6 blocks downtown and have farmers from all over the area (there are TONS of them here) set up their tables. We picked up some vegetables, peach-strawberry jam, and coconut zucchini bread. Anyways, just thought I would share!

Leave a Reply

