The Superhero Mentality


I’ve recently been feeling the effects of the superhero mentality. I think this is something women face on a day to day basis. Even though this is the 21st century, women are still expected to be the homemaker. Not only that, but because this is the 21st century we are also expected to work full time. So many women struggle to find a balance between work and home life. With two full time jobs (career and taking care of the home/kids/husband) there is little or no time left at the end of the day for herself. How did we end up in a world where women are supposed to “do it all” and also look put together while doing it?

This explains why women are more likely to suffer from mental illnesses such as depression, anxiety, stress, etc. We take on this double job role and feel if we ask for help or make a mistake, then we have failed. We’re juggling too much and sooner or later something is going to fall. Most likely it will be your health, which tends to often come last. Where did this come from?? And why do women continue this cycle?? It’s 2010 people!

However, I have to say, I find myself giving into this mentality that I have to have a career, take care of the house, do the laundry, buy the groceries, do the cooking, take care of the dog……. and keep a smile on my face while doing it.

I say this with much sarcasm in my head while cleaning 😉

It’s time to learn that it’s okay to feel overworked. It’s okay to feel stressed and tired. Most importantly it’s okay to not be perfect. We want to do it all, we feel we have to do it all, but it’s okay if we don’t.

Women need to feel okay about taking time for themselves. Their health and wellbeing will improve dramatically when women take the necessary time to take care of themselves. It’s not being selfish to take time to care for your own health, release some stress, or just sit in a quiet room by yourself. The laundry may not get done or the house may not cleaned, but being healthy and reducing the amount of stress in your life will greatly impact you, mentally and physically, in the long run.

Question: Do many of you feel you fall into the superhero mentality? Do you have trouble asking for help?

One thought on “The Superhero Mentality

  1. I work as a nurse in a hospital that caters to an indigent population. We are always busy and running on minimal staff. I often feel like if I don’t work the extra hours when they need help, or if I don’t help someone who asks for it, then I am letting someone down. I don’t often ask for help because the consensus seems to be that I should be able to handle it all. Sad, really, because I could be so much better with a little assistance. But I wear my supergirl shirt with pride under my scrubs, because it encourages me to meet new goals and be the best I can be, doing what I already do best.

Leave a Reply

