Homemade Peanut Butter…..the Better Butter :)


Nut butters are so, so, so easy to make, but, like most of you, I usually opt for buying my nut butters from the store to save time. However, after making the Peanut, Apple, Pretzel Cookies this week I had about a half bag of peanuts leftover and thought this would be the perfect time to make myself some homemade peanut butter 🙂 I decided to put a twist on it though and give it a kick of cinnamon. I don’t know about you, but I love the combination of cinnamon and peanut butter…or cinnamon with any nut butter really. It gives such a warm flavor to whatever foods you may be using the butter on.

Honestly, I don’t know why I don’t make nut butters more often. There really is nothing to them and, of course, they are much healthier homemade! Many store brands add preservatives, oils, and sugar to their nut butters so beware of what you are actually consuming in that jar of Jif. If you are going to buy store bought, I suggest looking at the ingredient list and finding ones with very minimal ingredients. Really all it takes to make a nut butter is the nut itself and maybe a little salt. That’s it. So anything else listed with the ingredients is really uneccesary.

So here it goes…one of the easiest things you will ever make…

Cinnamon Peanut Butter

I started with using 1/2 bag of Trader Joe’s roasted peanuts..

And some cinnamon… (1 tsp)

Throw the 2 ingredients into a food processor and process for 5-7 minutes, scraping the sides as needed.

You don’t need to add anything else, it’s amazing! I didn’t add any salt since I was using roasted peanuts that were already salted, but if you are using raw peanuts you might want to add a little. After a few minutes you will notice it start to get nice and creamy. Let it continue to process for at least 5 minutes. It will seem a little runny, but don’t worry it will thicken slightly as it sits. Then….that’s it!! You’re done. Enjoy your peanut butter and your weekend 😀

One thought on “Homemade Peanut Butter…..the Better Butter :)

Leave a Reply

