Climbing out of my comfort zone

Previously I wrote on the subject of confidence and the importance of pushing yourself out of your comfort zone. I have been making it a point to try new things in order to push myself to a new level of confidence. To have confidence in myself, my abilities, and my body. Check out my previous post on building confidence in yourself and to see my ride a horse for the first time!

Today, I have to give Groupon a shout out for another opportunity to break out of my shell. By the way, if you haven’t already subscribed to Groupon, I suggest you do. Chris and I have gotten to try so many different things because of the great deals that Groupon offers. Today’s adventure? Rock climbing! I have always wanted to try rock climbing, but have been too nervous to actually do it. In college, our rec center actually had a rock climbing wall and year after year, I said I would do it and never did. So today Chris and I took our Groupon to Vertical Adventures and I learned to rock climb!

It was so much fun! I was very nervous in the beginning, but I actually climbed to the top of the wall a few times! I didn’t follow any specific course since I was just learning how to manage the wall, but I was so excited to reach the top 🙂 We have a one month pass with our Groupon so hopefully by the end of the month I will be a climbing pro (or at lease venturing off of the beginner wall).


Chris has climbed before so he knew what he was doing. It also helps to have his upper body strength. Climbing made me realize how much I lack in upper body strength. My arms were sooo tired, but what a great workout! We climbed for an hour and I was dead. I can’t wait to go again. This one wall was giving me such a hard time and I am determined to conquer it!

Question: Do you push yourself out of your comfort zone very often?

Leave a Reply

