I scream, you scream, we all scream…..for pickles?

Speaking of apple cider vinegar…..

If you are looking for something to do with your vinegar other than drink it for the health benefits (refer to my previous post to find out more about this), then make pickles!

I seem to go through pickle phases where I sometimes tear through jars of them and other times I’m just not in the mood. Lately, I’ve been feeling the love for pickles so I thought…why not make my own! I never realized how easy it could be!

I used a recipe I found on the Chicago Tribune for Quick Pickled Cucumbers:

Prep: 10 minutes Cook: 2 minutes Chill: 1 hour Makes: 1 pint

1 cup cider vinegar

1/2 cup water, plus more, if needed

2 teaspoons each: kosher salt, pickling spice (I used garlic, peppercorns, mustard seed, dill)

1 large cucumber, cut into 1/4-inch slices ( I used several small cucumbers and quartered them length wise to make pickle spears)

1. Combine cider vinegar with 1/2-cup of water, salt and pickling spice in a small saucepan. Heat to a boil.

2. Place cucumber in a clean, dry glass container just large enough to hold all the slices. Pour boiling brine over cucumber slices to cover completely. If all cucumbers are not submerged, add cold water to cover. Cover; refrigerate at least 1 hour. Pickles will keep for about 10 days.

This recipe says you can have your pickles in just one hour, but the longer they sit, the better they will be. I let mine sit in the fridge for a full day before trying them and they were perfect 🙂 As far as the spices go, feel free to experiment with different ones to your liking.

You could also use different types of vinegar such as white vinegar or white wine vinegar. Really any vinegar except balsamic will work for pickling. This is a recipe to be experimented with. Try different spices, or different vegetables!

Cut up the cukes and stuff them in the jar..

Pour in the mixture..

After sitting in the fridge…READY TO EAT!

Happy pickling 😀

Leave a Reply

