Flu recovery and a banana scramble


Sorry for not posting yesterday, but I was under the weather all day long. A 24 hour flu snuck up on me, ninja style, and knocked me down for the day. I was hit with it as soon as I woke up in the morning and didn’t even have a chance to fight back. So, needless to say, it was not a very fun day. However, by late in the evening I was feeling much better and was able to stomach a little water and saltine crackers.

I will say that referring back to my post on ginger helped a lot. Ginger is good for helping relieve an upset stomach. However, I was out of ginger and in no shape to go to the store, so I opted for hot water with lemon. This similar concoction can have the same effect as the ginger tea recipe I gave all of you before. I simply heated a cup of water and squeezed half of a lemon into it. Lemon juice and warm water can act the same way as the ginger. It helps reduce the feeling of nausea, lessens an upset stomach and can help break a fever. However, if you have the flu I don’t recommend trying it until you feel you can keep it down. I woke up sick around 6:30am and wasn’t able to stomach anything until around 3:30pm. That’s when I began the warm water with lemon. It didn’t relieve my symptoms immediately, but over the course of a couple hours and a couple cups of the drink, I was finally starting to feel “normal” again. A big concern when you have the flu is the risk of dehydration. So if possible, you want to try to drink clear liquids as much as you can.

More health benefits of lemon:
1. Good for the stomach and digestion
2. Rejuvenates skin from within
3. Cures throat infections
4. Aids in weightloss
5. Controls high blood pressure
6. Helps cure respiratory problems
7. Helps treat arthritis
8. Reduces fever
9. Acts as a blood purifier

Needless to say, my appetite yesterday was non-existent. However I did manage a couple saltine crackers later in the evening. On the other hand, today I woke up feeling like a new person (although it might not take much after the feeling of yesterday)! After being on bed rest pretty much for an entire day, I was itching to get out of bed today and do something. However, I knew my body was still recovering and I would need to work on continuing to rehydrate myself and refueling after a harsh flu. I kept my activity pretty light this morning with a little house cleaning (and disinfecting). I then decided it was time to try actual food. So thanks to Ashley’s recipe, I whipped myself up a nice banana scramble!

I knew bananas were easy on the stomach, but I wanted something a little more than just a banana for breakfast. So, add a little nut butter, a little oats and some cinnamon and BOOM….banana scramble 🙂

Banana Scramble (adapted from Ashley’s recipe)
1/2 banana
1 Tbsp almond butter
3 Tbsp rolled oats
1 tsp cinnamon
1 Tbsp almond milk
blueberries

Combine all ingredients except the blueberries into a bowl and mash with a fork until mixed well. Heat a little Earth Balance in a pan over medium heat. Turn the banana mixture out into the pan and flatten like a pancake. Cook for 3-5 minutes, turn over and continue to cook for another 3-5 minutes. You can top your scramble with anything you wish or eat it just as it is. I chose to heat a few blueberries in the microwave to create a blueberry syrup. This was delicious on top of the banana scramble and complemented all the flavors really well.

If you have time in the morning I definitely recommend trying out this recipe. It only takes about 10 minutes to make and it will instantly put a smile on your face in the morning 🙂 Healthy, nutritious, and oh so good.

So get to scrambling and have a great day and weekend! I’m going to try to get out for a short walk with Cooper. We both are dying for some fresh air!

Leave a Reply

