The Joy of Walking

Walking is one form of exercise that can be done literally anywhere you are. Anyone can do it no matter how old or young and all you need is a pair of comfortable shoes. Then, let your feet take you where they may.

The benefits of walking are endless.

– It is a low impact form of exercise
– Helps boost mood
– Helps lower blood pressure
– Helps lower cholesterol
– An activity the whole family can do together
– Offers a great way to sight see or get to know a new city
– Strengthens bone mass
– Prevents heart disease, diabetes, osteoporosis, and arthritis
– Burns calories and helps to manage weight

In the past I never saw walking as a means for exercise. In college it was always just a way to get from one place to another (which I generally dreaded, especially in the winter). Now, I have learned to enjoy walking and have found it to be a great way to burn calories, spend time with my dog, and catch up with friends. It’s also a great way to get out and clear my mind. When I’m feeling stressed or frustrated about something, I have come to learn that taking a brisk walk can help tremendously and help me have a more positive outlook.

Weather permitting, Cooper and I go out for walks almost daily. We have our general 2-2.5 mile walk that we normally take, but on occasion we break out of the ordinary and try out a new locale. This week I decided to go to a nearby metro park for our walk. The sun was out and it was hot hot hot, so opting for a shaded walking path sounded much more appealing.

We took our walk over to Audubon Metro Park. Audubon is a fairly new park that I don’t think many people know about yet. The walking/jogging/bike path is paved and mostly shaded. It opens up at one point to give you a great view of the city, which you will see in the pictures below. It was actually a very lovely 3 mile walk 🙂

Check out the skyline!

They even have an outdoor climbing wall! I can’t wait to try it out! (You know….now that I’m a climbing pro and all 😉 )

Cooper was T.I.R.E.D.

Leave a Reply

