Tre’s Za

Before I became vegan, pizza was a regular, weekly dinner growing up. My parents were always very welcoming to all of our friends and there were many kids who considered my house a second home. With my brother playing football and I a cheerleader, Friday nights meant one thing…..pizza and high school football. Since my parents live so close to our high school, our house became the pregame hangout. School would let out and kids would come piling in to eat pizza and get ready for the game. Ahhh….good times πŸ™‚

After high school came college and after college came “the working world”, and living on my own. Pizza continued to be a weekly staple due to convenience. I was always a strictly cheese pizza girl or sometimes veggie. Actually, to be honest, as a kid I hated pizza! I know, what kid doesn’t like pizza?? I remember Friday nights being my least favorite dinner night because it meant pizza and it meant me eating everyone’s crust. It was the only part of the pizza I liked. I would actually take a piece of pizza and scrape every trace of sauce and toppings off of it and eat only the crust. Haha…weird, I know, but don’t worry, eventually I came around to the idea of pizza.

Now, today, being vegan means not ordering pizza. Or if I do, it means checking to see if the crust is vegan and ordering it without cheese. Many times, the convenience appeal of ordering pizza goes out the window when you are vegan. Although, I have to say that with discovering so many new and exciting foods, I rarely miss the cheesy, tomato-sauced pie. However, from time to time I do get a craving for a good veggie pizza. This week was one of those times, and so, I brought back the Friday night za….vegan style πŸ™‚

I have to give Trader Joe’s a shout out for contributing to the awesomeness that was created. They have dough, white or whole wheat, that you can buy for 99 cents! It’s amazing. I always go with the whole wheat to up the nutrient factor on my za and the taste is delicious.

Tre’s Za

1 whole wheat dough
pizza sauce of your choice
3/4 block of Follow Your Heart Gourmet Mozzarella
1/2 green bell pepper, cut into strips
1/2 red bell pepper, cut into strips
2 portebella mushroom caps, sliced
1 medium zucchini, sliced

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Roll dough out on baking sheet
3. While oven is preheating, sautee veggies with 1 Tbsp olive oil, 1 Tbsp minced garlic, salt and pepper. Just cook until slightly tender. (This will speed up the cooking process in the oven)
4. Spread an even layer of sauce onto the pizza dough.
5. Spread the veggies out over the sauce layer.
6. Grate the vegan mozzarella and spread over top of the pizza.
7. Bake in oven for about 20 minutes or until crust is lightly browned and cheese is melted.
8. Let cool for 5-7 minutes, cut and enjoy πŸ™‚

Before going into the oven (I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper to prevent sticking)

All cooked and ready to eat!

One thought on “Tre’s Za

  1. Pingback: Healthy Super Bowl Eats « Trehops's Blog

Leave a Reply

