Clean Eating Day ONE

First off, I wanted to clear something up. This is not a 10 day weight loss diet. It is a healthy eating regimen. I don’t really like the word diet, it’s asscociated with too many negatives. I’m simply challenging myself to cut out the junk for 10 days. I usually can’t go a day without some form of sugary sweet, and yes, in moderation sweets are fine to have. However, I have gotten into the habit of overdoing it just a little. So here I am, embarking on this 10 day challenge to prove to myself that all I need is healthy, whole, natural foods. My body will thank me for working better and having more energy and my mind will thank me for being able to focus more. Ok, here we go!

Breakfast started out with a cup of hot water with lemon to help cleanse my body and energize me. I then moved on to one of my green smoothies–super charged! Today I referred to it as swamp thing, because the color wasn’t the most appealing, but it was still delicious and nutritious πŸ™‚ Contents: 1 scoop Amazing Grass Wheat Grass, 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 frozen banana, 1 tsp aloe vera, 1 cup hemp milk, 1 cup spinach

I paired my green smoothie with a homemade granola bar. This breakfast offered me so many energy-packed nutrients. I was ready to begin my day!

By the time noon rolled around, I was ready to eat again πŸ™‚ I was lacking creativity for my lunch today so I resorted to some leftovers that were in the fridge. The other evening I made Chris and I tempeh asian lettuce wraps.(Recipe to come soon) So for lunch I used the leftover tempeh mixture and put in on a bed of lettuce. I like to call this the lazy girl’s lettuce wrap πŸ˜‰

I usually always have some sort of snack in the afternoon (this is where the sweets usually come in). Today I decided to keep on the healthy track and I had another homemade granola bar with almond butter…YUM! That should tide me over till dinner πŸ˜‰

Dinner was a quick and easy meal. We are going climbing so that usually means leftovers or something super quick. Tonight I kept it simple with a veggie burger topped with tomato paste, hummus and 1/4 avocado with cooked vegetables on the side. I pulled out one of the green giant frozen veg mixes from the freezer and heated them up. Like I said, tonight was a super quick dinner. However, this just proves that fast meals don’t have to mean drive throughs. Healthy, filling, and now ready to climb!

I have to admit, following climbing I will probably have another snack, such as an apple with nut butter. Great way to round out the night!

Workouts = pilates, 25 min walk with the dog, climbing πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Clean Eating Day ONE

  1. Good luck on your 10 day goal! I also have a sweet tooth but I think sugar is like any other addiction, you’re able to fight it over time. I’m not quite where I wish to be, though I’m way better. I still eat sweets but I’m at the point now where I’m not possessed about it.

    • Thanks! I’m ususally pretty good about sweets, or if I do eat them I try to use more natural sugars than processed, but every once in a while I get in a rut. I’m glad to hear you have conquered your sweet tooth and control it rather than it controlling you! Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

