Clean Eating Day FIVE

Let me just start off by saying….this weather is BEA-U-TIFUL 🙂 I love this time of year when fall is on the horizon. I want to bottle this weather and keep it forever.

Today was a pancake kind of morning. So, for breakfast, that’s just what I made! I adapted Angela’s recipe for Healthy Spelt Pancakes and added a little twist of my own based on what ingredients I had on hand. The recipe is enough for one serving, which is great because normally when I make pancakes I have tons left over and I hate having that waste. I also only used the slightest bit of maple syrup on them. They really didn’t need anything due to the buttery flavor from being cooked in Earth Balance. Delish!

Ingredients:
1/2 cup spelt flour
1/2 t cinnamon
tiny pinch sea salt
1 t baking powder
3 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
1/2 c unsweetened hemp milk (or milk of your choice)

Directions: Mix all dry ingredients together. Add the milk and applesauce to dry ingredients and stir well. Heat a skillet over medium heat with a little Earth Balance. Spoon the batter onto the skillet on med-low temperature. Flip pancakes when bubbles pop and cook other side. Serve with topping of your choice.

Pancakes make me smile 😀

Spelt Pancakes

Since I couldn’t actually bottle this weather I decided to soak up as much of it as I could. I took Cooper for a walk and even though I had other things I wanted to do around the house, I spent most of the day relaxing outside with a good book. It was worth not getting some chores done around here.

In between soaking up some rays (with sunscreen of course 😉 ) I popped back inside for some lunch. We decided it would be a nice day to venture out for some eats. I have been wanting to try out Northstar Cafe for some time as I heard they have a lot of vegetarian options. The place was packed so we took ours to-go and had a peaceful lunch at home 🙂 I tried out their Northstar burger, which is made with black beans, brown rice and beets! I have to say that this was one of the better veggie burgers I have had. It had so much flavor and a little spice to it. The burger was also as big as my head, but I ate every last bite 🙂 I would definitely get it again. I also tried out their Shooting Star juice, which consisted of carrots, orange, lemon and ginger. Probably the best part of the meal. This juice was AMAZING. I would go back to Northstar just for this juice.

Northstar veggie burger with carrot, orange, ginger juice

When dinner rolled around, I was feeling laaaaazy. I wanted the dinner fairy to swoop in and present me with a meal. Unfortunately, I knew that was never going to happen. At the end of the week, our household ingredients are usually pretty slim so options are quite limited. I ended up whipping up a simple rice pasta dish. Sometimes simple is a good thing though. This meal came out really well and Chris kept saying how much he liked it. Good feedback = dinner success 🙂

Pasta ingredients:
Brown rice spaghetti
olive oil
garlic
chopped tomato
chopped fresh basil
freshly ground black pepper
pinch of sea salt

Brown rice pasta with garden fresh basil and tomatoes

Snacks of the day included a homemade granola bar and peanut-banana soft serve

My lazy relaxing day only left me with a workout of a 2 mile walk with Cooper. Tomorrow I have intentions of being more active, but today I will just enjoy 8)

Leave a Reply

