Clean Eating Day EIGHT

Wow! So I guess August is going out with a BANG! It was so incredibly hot today. Like can’t breathe, instantly start sweating, hot. I am so glad I got my butt out of bed for a run first thing this morning because it would not be happening today if I hadn’t. I ran three miles and I can honestly say that it felt good. I am really getting used to my Nike Frees and have found a comforting stride. This made me really happy this morning πŸ™‚

Post run fuel consisted of green smoothie and TreBar. So cool and refreshing after a run.

Green Smoothie contents included 1 scoop Amazing Grass Wheat Grass, 1 frozen banana, grated ginger, 1 tsp aloe vera, 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup spinach, and ice.

After a morning appointment I worked from a Panera for a while this morning so I treated myself to a decaf soy latte. Mmmmmm….love soy lattes. I don’t drink a lot of soy milk because it is more processed than some of the other milks and I try to limit my soy consumption, but every once in a while I treat myself to a soy latte and love every sip πŸ™‚

For lunch I had a date with a friend to go over some blogging stuff. We went to Matt the Millers and both ordered salads. It was way to hot out to think of eating anything but a salad today. Also, sorry, I scarfed it before I remembered to take a picture. It was a pretty good salad, but pretty basic I’d say (but then again I had to leave off a few things to veganize it). The original salad also contained bleu cheese and either chicken or shrimp. My salad contained mixed greens, tomatoes, cucumbers, pine nuts, and a balsamic vinaigrette.

After such a light lunch I was definitely craving a snack this afternoon. I opted for an apple and blueberry mix, topped with almond butter and cinnamon. I also ended up grabbing another TreBar because I love them so much πŸ˜‰

Apple and blueberries with almond butter and cinnamon

As far as dinner goes, tonight I was craving rice. I feel like I haven’t made any rice lately so tonight I had one of my favorite meals….stir fry! Last week at Trader Joe’s I picked up a pre-packaged stir fry mix in their freezer section. I usually don’t like to buy mixes because I like to create my own, but this one called to me. I knew if would come in handy when my vegetable supply was low. The veggie mix included pea pods, bean sprouts, bamboo shoots, carrots, mushrooms, soy beans, and water chestnuts. This mix was great paired with brown rice and Trader Joe’s Soyaki Sauce (the sauce that I could literally drink from the bottle it’s so good).

Veggie Stir Fry

Happy eating everyone! I’m off to take the dog for a quick walk before it gets dark out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

