Kids Superfood Tasting and Review

I saved the Kids Superfood for my last Amazing Grass review. I figured it would be fun to set up a tasting of all three flavors and I was sure they would all be delicious because they are made for kids after all 🙂

Before the tasting, I want to give you a rundown of the nutritional quality your kids would be getting with the Superfood. According to Amazing Grass, one serving of the mix contains:
The antioxidant equivalent of 3 servings of fruits and vegetables
Only 1 gram of sugar per serving
1 gram of protein
Only 21 calories
Supports cognitive and physical growth
Whole food source of antioxidants, vitamins and minerals
Excellent source of Beta Carotene, Thiamin (B-1), Vitamin K
Good source of Vitamin C, Iron, Rioboflavin (B-2), Folic Acid
Supports a strong immune system
All natural – no artificial colors, flavors, fillers or other unnecessary stuff
Non dairy, Gluten free, Decaffeinated, Non-GMO, Vegan

Not bad, eh?

Next up….the tasting….dun dun dun 😉

From left to right...Original, Wild Berry, Chocolate

I got out all three packets, my hemp milk, and my frozen bananas and hoped my blender was up to the challenge of the tasting. I decided to add half of a frozen banana to all of the drinks because I have learned that bananas work great with all Amazing Grass products. It helps to smooth it out and make it nice and creamy. Plus, bananas are kind of a superfood themselves, so why not add another one to the mix right? I chose hemp milk for my smoothies because it is a great source of omega 3s, more so than any other milk.

First up was the Original Superfood flavor. I actually expected the original variety to be my least favorite because it didn’t have any added flavors like the wild berry and the chocolate. Well, I was definitely wrong. I’m gonna go ahead and let you know right off the bat that this one was my absolute favorite of all three. The banana added so much creaminess to the smoothie and I loved the little bit of banana flavor that showed through. It tasted like a creamy, awesome milk shake! I am positive that kids will love this. What kid wouldn’t want a milkshake for breakfast or better yet, try giving this to them for a night time snack instead of regular ice cream. They won’t be able to tell it’s not a real milkshake!

Tasting number two was the Wild Berry Superfood. I had a really great experience with the non-kids version of the Berry so I had high hopes for the one that was marketed for kids. However, in my opinion I feel they may have gone a little strong on the berry flavor in hopes of covering up the flavor of the plain mix. The taste of the banana was completely hidden by the berry flavoring in this one. This one came in a close second for me. It was still smooth and creamy like the original, but with a fruity punch. I could definitely see kids liking this one as well. If your kid is into fruit smoothies or strawberry ice cream I would definitely try giving them this instead. They will get 3 servings of fruit and veggies in the mix alone and you could always add more fruit to switch up the taste if you wanted.

Lastly, it was time for the tasting of the Chocolate Superfood. I saved this one for last because I expected it to be the best. Apparently I went in the wrong direction with my tastings. The chocolate flavoring didn’t do it for me. I expected this to taste like a chocolate milkshake, especially being for kids. However, I’m sad to report that it did not. It wasn’t as creamy as the other two flavors and the chocolate wasn’t that strong. It came out tasting a little chalky and bland, unfortunately. My recommendation for this one is if you are going to try to give this to your kids as a chocolate “milkshake”, I would add a natural sweetener to it such as honey or agave nectar. You could also try making it with chocolate soy milk which might kick it up a notch on the flavor scale. Otherwise don’t promote this to your kids as a chocolate drink because they will be a little disappointed in the lack of chocolatey goodness. Overall, not bad, but I would go with one of the first two flavors. I am actually totally shocked that I liked the original flavor the best. That one truly did taste like a milkshake 😀

Whether you choose to buy the Original, Wild Berry, or Chocolate flavor, I would definitely recommend giving these mixes to your kids. You just can’t beat the nutritional quality of the Superfood and we all know how hard it is to get kids to eat fruits and vegetables sometimes. This way they are getting 3 servings (plus more if you add in extra fruit) in just one glass and they’re not getting a lot of added sugars like most juices contain. Many other kids’ drinks are claiming they contain more fruit, vegetables, and nutrients, but you are also getting a ton of sugar, corn syrup and preservatives. You may pay a little more for the Amazing Grass, but I think it’s worth it for what they are getting.

*Have any of you tried giving your kids any of the Amazing Grass products? If so, how did they like it?

Leave a Reply

