Tricked by Fall-like weather….Summer is back

image

Yesterday was officially the first day of Fall, however, I think this has been the hottest week we have had all year. I was completely fooled by the brisk mornings and cool days we enjoyed just two weeks ago. I even stocked up on my last grocery shopping trip with Fall ingredients. I was ready for pumpkin infused goods, chili, soups, and hot meals. Since I had the ingredients on hand I had to use them so I dusted off my Crockpot and got to work. Chili just doesn’t taste as good on a 90 degree day 😦
image

image

Vegan Chili

1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can diced tomatoes
1 block tempeh, crumbled
3-4cups vegetable broth
2 whole roasted red peppers (homemade or jarred)
2 apples
1 Tbsp cumin
1 Tbsp paprika
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp oregano
1 tsp nutmeg
salt and pepper

Directions:
Place all ingredients, except for the apple, into the Crockpot, stir, and let simmer on LOW for 6 hours. After 4 hours, chop and add the apple to the mix. If you want to speed up the process you can shorten the cook time by putting your Crockpot on High. Taste seasonings after a couple of hours and adjust as necessary. I may have added a few more shakes of this and pinches of that 😉

This meal provides you with a bowl full of essential vitamins, fiber, protein and healthy fats. Serve with crackers or whole grain bread. The recipe makes a lot so you will definitely have leftovers. Soups and chilis freeze really well though so I stuck the rest of ours into the freezer for when Fall comes back to visit 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tricked by Fall-like weather….Summer is back

Leave a Reply

