Going Greek Greek Pasta

Last week while out to dinner I saw a wonderfully enticing Greek pasta dish on the menu. There were other things calling my name as well so I opted out of the pasta and decided that I would create my own version at home. So this week on my grocery shopping trip to Trader Joe’s, I knew exactly what was on the menu for dinner….a Trehops take on Greek pasta 🙂

First came the choice of pasta shape. To save money I decided not to buy any more pasta and use what I had on hand at home already, which was some brown rice penne. Then, I knew I needed some essential kalamata olives and feta, which I would leave for Chris to enjoy (haven’t found a vegan version yet). Add in some garden-grown tomatoes, a little fresh basil, spinach, and squirt of lemon and it’s Greek pasta time!

Greek Pasta

Greek Pasta (a trehops original recipe)

Ingredients:
1/2 package Trader Joe’s brown rice penne pasta
8 kalamata olives, pitted
1 bunch of fresh basil leaves (around 8-10 leaves), thinly chopped
1 large handful of spinach
3 tomatoes, chopped
extra virgin olive oil
1/2 lemon
fresh ground black pepper
feta cheese

Directions:
1. Cook pasta according to package, drain and drizzle with olive oil
2. Add chopped tomatoes, chopped basil, spinach, and kalamata olives. Toss to combine.
3. Sprinkle with fresh ground black pepper and feta cheese (for your non-vegan guests)
4. Serve with lemon to squeeze over pasta if desired.

This pasta dish is so fresh tasting and I love the saltiness of the kalamatas. If you are missing the cheese factor, feel free to substitute a vegan or soy cheese for the feta. Either way it is delicious! Simple. Fresh. Good for you. 😀

Opa!

Leave a Reply

