A Better Burger

The other day we experienced slightly warmer than Fall weather, with a high temp of 77F. I could smell the grills going again as everyone was taking advantage of the sunshine before the cold weather blows in for good. So, naturally, when planning dinner I thought burgers. I know, I know, you’re thinking “but you’re vegan”. Yes, yes I am, but these, my friends, are burgers that even your meat eating friends will enjoy. I give you……

Black Bean and Mushroom Burgers!

These are hands down one of the best veggie burgers I have ever had. I gave them to Chris and his friend to try and they both loved them and couldn’t believe they were made of only vegetables. I adapted the recipe from Emily’s black bean burgers and made a few changes of my own.

Black Bean and Mushroom Burgers
Ingredients:
2 cans organic black beans, drained and rinsed
2 carrots, grated
1 red bell pepper, diced
3/4 cup chopped mushrooms (that’s all I had, you could definitely add more if you want)
1/2 cup dry oats
1/4 cup pepitas
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 300F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Add the oats and pepitas into the food processor and process until coarsely chopped. Next add the grated carrots, 3/4 cup beans, spices, and olive oil and process. Transfer the mixture to a mixing bowl and fold in the rest of the beans, diced red pepper and mushrooms. Using wet hands, form mixture into 6 patties. Bake for 40 minutes, flipping them halfway.

So the ingredient list may be a little long, but they are super easy and quick to make. Top with whatever ingredients you like on your burgers. My toppings included tomato paste, hummus, and sliced tomato on a toasted Trader Joe’s whole wheat english muffin. Yum!

Burgers fresh from the oven ๐Ÿ™‚


Look at that healthy burger!


Black Bean and Mushroom Burger topped with tomato paste, hummus and sliced tomato

These also made for a great quick lunch the following day. I will definitely be making these again and I encourage you to try them too! They’re definitely a crowd pleaser ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day everyone! I’m off to get ready to watch the Buckeyes!

2 thoughts on “A Better Burger

  1. Yum! I’ll have to try these ๐Ÿ™‚ I just made lentil and mushroom burgers with lemon aioli on Thursday and Dan declared them his favorite vegetarian food ever — it’s so nice when the guys are pleased, too.

  2. Pingback: Healthy Super Bowl Eats « Trehops's Blog

Leave a Reply

