Fall appetizers




The weather’s indecision between Summer and Fall has my closets, and my taste buds, very confused. One day I’m wearing a sweater and craving soup and pumpkin pie and the next day I’m going for a run in a tank top and shorts and having cookouts. I know, I know, I’m an Ohioian so I should be used to this craziness by now, but it still throws me off every year. Actually, I welcome the 80 degree days we are having right now. As much as I love Fall, I’m not quite ready for the days of having to put a jacket on every time I leave the house. So, last night we savored the warm weather and cooked out with some friends 🙂

To go along with the burgers, veggies, and baked potatoes my friends were making, I decided to make a few snacks and appetizers. Immediately I thought hummus because, well, I can’t get enough of the stuff, but I also wanted to make something that gave the essence of Fall even if the weather didn’t. So, I decided to head to the grocery store and let the seasonal produce guide me. Where did it guide me?

Fall Fruit Salsa!

I don’t know if you guys are fans of fruit salsa, but I make it for cookouts in the summertime. I usually mix together strawberries, pineapple, blueberries, and other summer fruits, but this time I thought I would let the Fall fruits come together for a sweet and cinnamon-y treat! This snack is great for a dessert-like appetizer, or for the dessert itself. I could see this being amazing over top of vanilla ice cream 🙂

After letting the salsa sit for a while, the fruits come together to create a light syrupy-like glaze

Fall Fruit Salsa
2 pears
2 peaches
1 large honey crisp apple (or apple of your choice)

Chop fruit into very small pieces. Combine in bowl with 1/2 tsp of sugar, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and 1 Tbsp of lemon Juice. Mix until well combined. Let sit in refrigerator for at least an hour before serving. The lemon juice will help the fruits from browning, but don’t worry if they still turn a little brown. With the cinnamon mixed in it will be hard for your guests to tell and it will still taste great. Sprinkle with cinnamon before serving and serve with pita chips. Delish!

A sprinkle of cinnamon enhances the Fall essence

For my second appetizer I couldn’t get away from making hummus. It’s so easy to make (and I have a slight obsession). For the cookout I decided on a Roasted Red Pepper hummus. Due to lack of time I used jarred roasted red peppers, but you could roast your own prettily easily too!

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
1/2 to 1 roasted red pepper
1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1/4 cup tahini
2 tsp minced garlic
pinch of salt and black pepper
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Combine all ingredients except the oil in a food processor. Turn on and let process for 3-5 minutes, slowly adding oil as the motor is running. Process until the hummus is creamy and smooth in texture. Taste and adjust seasoning as necessary. Start with 1/2 roasted red pepper, but you might need to add more to get the desired taste you want. Top with a few slices of roasted red pepper and a drizzle of olive oil. Serve with chips, crackers or veggies!


3 thoughts on “Fall appetizers

    • I understand about wanting hot apples and pears this time of year, but the fruit salsa is good for those slightly warmer days when you feel like bringing a little summer back 🙂 Thanks for stopping by the blog, I’ll have to hop over to yours!

  1. Pingback: Healthy Super Bowl Eats « Trehops's Blog

Leave a Reply

