Tofu Scramble with Sauteed Veggies

Before I chose to be vegan, I used to eat a lot of eggs. I used to enjoy them scrambled, over easy and hard boiled. I mean, Easter was, after all, about coloring eggs, hiding them, and then eating them, right? My old Sunday school teacher would not be proud of that comment, but sorry, the rabbit took over the holiday a long time ago. So now as a vegan, I have tried to recreate almost everything I used to eat in the past…including eggs. Thanks to a little help from some fellow bloggers, I found some ideas for a tofu scramble. I couldn’t believe how well this turned out. The tofu did, in fact, resemble scrambled eggs!

Easy Tofu Scramble with Sauteed Veggies

Ingredients:
1 block firm tofu
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp tumeric
1 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp Braggs amino acids
1 tsp soy sauce
2-3 Tbsp nutritional yeast (depending on your taste, I really like nutritional yeast so I added in some extra)
steamed or sauteed veggies of choice

Directions:
1. Drain tofu and wrap in paper towels to squeeze out additional moisture.
2. Once you have removed most of the moisture from the tofu, crumble it into a bowl. Add all the spices to the crumbled tofu, mix, and let sit for 10 minutes.
3. Steam or sautee your veggies.
4. Add your tofu mixture to a preheated skillet and cook over medium heat until heated through. I cooked mine for about 5-7 minutes.
5. Mix with veggies and enjoy with a side of toast or add salsa and wrap it up in a whole wheat tortilla!

Tofu mixed with the spices


Sautee up some veggies


Tofu Scramble!


The great thing about this dish is that it is so versatile. I was making this for dinner so I added sauteed mushrooms and bell pepper. However, you could add “cheese”, cinnamon, tempeh bacon or vegan sausage, and pretty much any vegetable you can imagine. The tofu scramble opens the door to creativity and it works well for any meal!

Leave a Reply

