If at first you fail….eat chocolate

I’ve always been an “if at first you fail, try, try again”, type of person. Well, I’m pleased to say in this scenario I did try again, however, I also failed again. I have been trying to make my own falafel for a while now. I love Mediterranean food and with that comes falafel! I wanted to create my own at home in order to eliminate the fried aspect of it. My first attempt was based on an easy, throw together, falafel. The ingredients were few and it was easy, but it did not turn out. The taste wasn’t there and they fell apart in the pan.


Edible? Yes. But, delicious? No.

Attempt number two came last night. There was much more preparation involved in this trial and the ingredient list lengthened, however, I was very hopeful. Again, the taste just wasn’t there. This mixture, however, did form into falafel balls well and they did stay together while baking. Something was just off and I can’t put my finger on it.

Chris's falafel pita with feta cheese, lettuce and tomato


So, again, edible? Yes. Worthy of sharing the recipe? No. Don’t worry, I figure third time’s the charm (or I’m hoping) so I will give it another go next week.

So as bummed as I was about my falafel (fala-fail), I had something chocolate to cheer me up! Works every time 🙂

Truffles before freezing


I based the recipe for these chocolate delights off of my raw balls and bars (giggle if you must 😉 ) I used to make. Angela also has a few similar variations that she made. They are incredible and I am so happy with the way they turned out. These chocolate treats taste like you are indulging, but they are super healthy for you. Chocolate? Healthy? Oh, yes, it can happen and it just did. The healthy chocolate bites are made with dates, nuts, cocoa powder, honey and vegan chocolate chips. That’s it! Full of fiber, protein, antioxidants, iron and flavor! (Shh..Chris doesn’t know they are so healthy 😉 )

Tre’s Tricked Out Truffles

Ingredients:
1/2 cup raw cashews
1/3 cup Trader Joe’s sesame honey almonds (could use regular almonds, but the sesame seeds on these add iron)
8-10 pitted dates
2 Tbsp cocoa powder
1 Tbsp honey
2 Tbsp vegan chocolate chips

Directions:
1. In a food processor, combine the cashews and almonds and process until it forms a crumbly mixture. About 1-2 minutes.
2. Add dates and process until they are well combined with the nuts.
3. Add the cocoa powder, honey and chocolate chips and process to mix well. It may begin to form a dough-like mixture in your processor.
4. Form mixture into balls, squares, or shape of choice. Freeze for an hour and enjoy!
*Store in freezer

Makes: around 18 truffles, depending on what size you make them

These are out of this world good and they only take 5 minutes to make! They were definitely a great way to end a very disappointing falafel dinner 🙂

One thought on “If at first you fail….eat chocolate

Leave a Reply

