Creating a healthy plan for vacation

So, we all know how hard it can be to eat right and stay healthy while away from home. However, sometimes it helps to go into the trip with a plan. Chris and I are getting ready to leave for Las Vegas tomorrow (Vegas!!!) and I know it is going to be extremely hard to keep to a healthy diet and maintain my vegan lifestyle. I know many of you with dietary restrictions or concerns also face this when traveling so I thought I would put together a list of things to keep in mind, and maybe plan ahead for, when going out of town.

1. Check out local restaurants to know where the best places are for getting in some healthy eats.
2. Don’t be afraid to ask your waiter about other options, letting them know of your dietary restrictions. Most places are more than willing to accommodate for your needs. I usually get a little nervous about asking for a vegan meal when going out to eat, but for the most part the chefs have welcomed my request and usually can come up with something to serve me. For Chris’s birthday we went out to Hyde Park, which is a very nice steakhouse, and the chef ended up preparing me a wonderful vegetable platter. So, don’t be afraid to ask when going out to eat, the worst that can happen is that they say no, right? Also, another tip is to call ahead to places to let them know you are coming and any dietary requests you may have. Many places are more likely to accommodate if you let them know ahead of time.
3. Pack healthy snacks. I have gotten in the habit of taking along my own healthy snacks on trips, such as Luna Bars, homemade granola, fruit, or even chopped veggies. This is especially helpful for long plane rides when you may not find healthy options in the airport.
4. Scope out your hotel online and the area that surrounds it for opportunities for physical activity. Most hotels have small gyms located within them that are open 24 hours a day. Pack a few workout outfits and head down to the fitness center to get in a quick workout or go out for a morning walk and check out your vacation spot. Many times you will find local spots on a walk or run around your destination city that you wouldn’t have found if you were driving around.
5. Remain flexible. I think this is the most important tip. You are on vacation and things may not go quite as planned. Maybe your hotel didn’t have a gym, maybe you couldn’t find many healthy eateries, or maybe you had too many cocktails. It’s important to remember that you are on vacation. Relax and enjoy yourself. Try not to get too caught up on finding a place to get a healthy meal (this is where the healthy snacks that you packed would come in). Have a good time and work with what is available.

I am definitely looking forward to this trip to LV. I have never been there and we are going with a few friends so it should be a blast. I apologize if you don’t hear a lot from me over the next few days, but I will try my best to get in a few blogs while on the road. I’m hoping to show you that you can have a somewhat healthy vacation even while in sin city. Stay tuned…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

