A pancake type of day


With the chilly weather outside, the increase in very gray days, and the feeling of being a little under the weather, my body was craving something warm and comforting for breakfast. Normally my hot oats hit the spot, but I knew today would take something a little more special to help put some pep back in my step. That’s where these vegan blueberry pancakes came into play. Fluffy, flavorful, and full of whole grain goodness.

I have always loved pancakes, but don’t make them very often because of the dishes I end up having to clean afterwards and the fact that Chris is not much of a breakfast person (gasp! I know!) so I end up having to eat all of them myself. Today I didn’t care about the dishes and made just enough pancake batter to satisfy my desire for pancakes. You can also use frozen blueberries in these or pick a different fruit, but I love the flavor of fresh blueberries with my pancakes. The little blue morsels burst open and offer a sweet and delicate flavor. Mmmm…

Vegan Blueberry Pancakes
Makes 3 medium-sized pancakes
Ingredients:
1 cup spelt flour (or flour of choice, but the spelt flour adds a ton of fiber and protein)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 Tbsp agave nectar (or sugar)
1 cup vanilla almond milk (unsweetened)
1 Tbsp canola oil
blueberries

Directions:
1.Combine dry ingredients and mix well. Combine wet ingredients together and add the wet ingredients to the dry. Mix only until all the dry ingredients are incorporated. Do not over mix, it will still have some lumps.
2. Melt a small amount of butter in a skillet over medium heat (or spray with nonstick spray).
3. Pour 1/3 of the batter into the skillet and top with blueberries. Once bubbles begin to form on the surface, flip the pancake over and cook the other side. Repeat with remaining batter and blueberries.
4. Serve warm with maple syrup and enjoy 🙂

These pancakes definitely hit the spot and kept me fueled throughout my morning. Ahhhh…..sometimes it’s just a pancake type of day 😉

Leave a Reply

