Happy Eat Too Much Day!

Happy Thanksgiving! The holidays are officially upon us and it still seems too early to me. It just hasn’t seemed like it should be Christmas shopping time. So, in an effort to kick myself into the spirit I’m getting up and heading out to shop on Black Friday for the first time ever tomorrow. I may or may not make it home alive.

If you don’t hear from me, check the floor of Target.

Ok, let’s focus on the holiday of today….Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

It’s so nice to be able to spend the holiday with family. Today started out with a five mile run….on the treadmill. My sister-in-law and I were signed up to do a five mile Turkey Trot in Cleveland today, however, it was pouring down rain all morning. I decided that since I already have a cold, that I would skip out on the race and we held our own side by side on treadmills. I’m still counting it and I’m now sitting proudly in my race shirt πŸ™‚

Today is a day of giving thanks. Yes, it is also about seeing family and eating enough food until your pants feel too tight, but let’s take some time to give thanks. Today I am thankful for:

*My wonderful family, whom I am so grateful to spend the holiday with
*Chris’s family who has become like family to me
*A loving and caring boyfriend, a house we have made our home, and the best dog in the world
*The fact that I have the ability to run and be active
*Good food, fun times, and great memories to be made

What are you thankful for this year?

Speaking of food….

As I was saying yesterday, I will win my family over with cheese and it will be delicious and it will be completely vegan. I decided to keep it simple and offer up the most amazing cheese sauce ever, served over broccoli.

Baked Broccoli and Cheese

Ingredients:
2 bags frozen broccoli (you can use fresh, but I chose the time saver)
1/4 cup Earth Balance
1/2 package Tofutti cream cheese
2 Tbsp tapioca starch
1 package Daiya cheddar cheese
2 cups almond milk
nutritional yeast
1 tsp onion powder
fresh ground black pepper

Directions:
1. Cook broccoli according to package.
2. To make cheese sauce, begin by melting Earth Balance in a saucepan over medium heat. Add tapioca starch and stir to combine.
3. Add Tofutti cream cheese and and stir to melt. Add Daiya cheese and stir until it begins to melt.
4. Add almond milk and continue stirring until a thick, creamy cheese sauce forms.
5. Add pepper, onion powder, and nutritional yeast to taste. Continue stirring until creamy.
6. Pour sauce over the cooked broccoli, top with bread crumbs and bake in 350F oven for about 20 minutes. Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

I love, love, love this cheese sauce so much that I want to drink it. Haha, ok, maybe not drink it, but it is really that good. If you remember the mac n’ cheese I made a while back, this was the cheese sauce I used. It worked wonders over top of the broccoli for today’s Thanksgiving dinner. I think I definitely won them over with my vegan meal. No one could believe it was vegan!

For dessert I chose to make Angela’s apple streusal butternut blondies. The only change I made was using almonds instead of pecans. I would recommend sticking with the pecans. The almonds were too crunchy for the cake-like brownies. Other than that, these were very good.

And look what my mom made me. I couldn’t believe it, but my mom made me a separate vegan dish! It turned out really well too. It was stuffed butternut squash. The squash was cut in half and stuffed with a vegan cornbread stuffing. Mmmmm…..sooo good.

I hope you all have had a great Thanksgiving with your families. I’m full, satisfied, and ready to sit and relax for the night. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

