Recovering from Black Friday


(image source)

Don’t worry, I survived the day after Thanksgiving sales.

Yesterday was my first Black Friday experience and it actually turned out to be kind of fun. I mean, when my alarm went off at 4am it wasn’t so fun, but once we were out in the craziness, I warmed up to it. My mom, sister-in-law, and I headed out early (although not as early as some) and set off to see what deals we could find. We, however, were not the crazy people standing in line to get in the stores when they opened, thank goodness. People were trampled and fights broke out in Target in order to get to the electronics. I mean, really people? Where’s your Christmas spirit?

We stayed away from the electronics department of every place we went and went for the deals on other items, such as boots, shoes, clothing, coffee makers, sweepers, kitchen items and bath towels. Christmas presents were bought, along with a few items for myself, and we actually did save a lot of money. All in all, I’d say that Black Friday shopping can definitely be worth getting up early for. Although you will never see me camped out for days in front of a store. That’s just ludicrous.

After my 4am wake-up call and the seven hours of shopping, here are a few things I would recommend to Black Friday shoppers:
*Pack your own coffee. Coffee places were jammed and every Starbucks I saw had a 30 minute wait for your coffee. Honestly I think Starbucks needed to be better prepared for the crowds, but that’s another issue. Just bring your own and save yourself the half hour and four bucks.
*Do your research. Know which stores are carrying the best prices on the stuff you are looking for. Better yet, know what you are looking for and have a game plan going into the day.
*Refuel when you can. You’re heading out the door so early that chances are you don’t eat breakfast before you shop. I would recommend packing something you can snack on, such as energy bars, fruit, or even a pb & j sandwich. Otherwise take a quick break and grab something while you shop. We stopped around 8am for a quick bagel break at Panera. It was much needed three hours into our shopping adventure and we were recharged to head back out in search for more deals.
image

*Be kind to the people working at the stores. I know it’s easy to get caught up in the stress of the crowds and many people end up with a not-so-nice attitude, but try to be patient and kind to the workers. I realized how much stress the staff must be under on this day and how long of a day they actually have to work and deal with the negative attitudes of the shoppers. Be kind to them, they are doing the best they can.

Ok, on that note, I’m off to check out a few more stores today and then home to watch the Buckeyes! GO BUCKS 🙂

One thought on “Recovering from Black Friday

Leave a Reply

