Attitude of Gratitude

Thanksgiving was a time to gather with family and friends, eat good food, but most importantly, it was a time to give thanks. Positivity goes a long way, especially this time of year when one can easily become stressed due to the hustle and bustle of the holiday season. We take time and give thanks once a year on Thanksgiving, but why not continue the art of gratitude all year round?

Sometimes I find myself going through each day on auto-pilot and not stopping to think of all the good that surrounds me in my life. It’s easy to get caught up on the little things and to let one little negative moment ruin your entire day. So, in an effort to slow down, think more positively and not take life for granted, I have begun a “gratitude journal”. I recommend this to anyone who is in a tough spot in life and is having a hard time seeing the positives, however, I think almost everyone could use this. A gratitude journal is a place for you to reflect at the end of each day. Sit in a quiet place, think about the day you just had and challenge yourself to write down at least 3-5 things that you are grateful for. Continue doing this every day and soon your outlook on life will be brighter and you will find yourself not sweating the small stuff so much.

Living a healthy lifestyle is not just about working out and eating right. It’s also about finding balance in your life and obtaining inner peace.

Today I thought I would share my gratitude list with you in hopes that it would inspire you to do this for yourself.

Today I am thankful for:
* My mom and sister-in-law who drove two hours to spend time with me today.
* My workout this morning. Having been sick with a cold, it was nice to move my body again.
* The wonderful weather we had today that let us walk outside comfortably in late November.
* The sweetest, most loving dog in the world.
* The warm meal that is cooking in the oven.

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

