Winter Smoothies

Happy December everyone!

This morning I woke up to see the first snow falling lightly to cover the rooftops and cars. It made me want to curl up with a big blanket and a mug of hot chocolate. I am not a fan of the cold, but I do like the first couple of snows we get. After that it gets old and by January I want to hibernate until spring arrives.

This guy gets excited though. He loves winter and playing in the snow.

Because winter is approaching and the cold weather has arrived, I haven’t been in the mood for smoothies in the morning. I’ve mostly been eating hot oatmeal with blueberries or banana to warm me up as I wait for the heat to kick on and take the chill off the house. However even though there was snow falling outside this morning, I was craving a smoothie after my workout. Instead of going for a refreshing fruit smoothie, I decided to make myself a Winter Spiced Smoothie. It was creamy, thick, and delicious. The perfect smoothie for a Fall or Winter day.

Winter Spiced Smoothie

Ingredients:
1/2 cup pureed butternut squash
1 frozen banana
1 cup almond milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
sweetener if needed (stevia, honey, agave nectar, etc)
2 ice cubes

Directions:
Place all ingredients, except the ice, into the blender and blend until smooth. Add the 2 ice cubes and continue blending until smooth and creamy.

This smoothie works great as an addition to your breakfast, a post-workout or afternoon snack, or even as a dessert in the evening. I chose to use butternut squash because I had some on hand, but pumpkin could also be substituted and would be equally delicious. In fact tomorrow I may try a pumpkin pie smoothie and add in some nutmeg and ginger along with the cinnamon. Mmmmm….

Now I have to go convince a certain dog that we are not going to spend the day playing out in the barely snow-dusted yard..

One thought on “Winter Smoothies

Leave a Reply

