More Pumpkin!

Back to pumpkin recipes. After my butternut squash smoothie the other morning, I couldn’t wait to try a pumpkin one. So the past two days I have done just that. Winter smoothies may just be my new favorite thing 🙂

This is the one I am obsessed with right now. The Pumpkin Pie Smoothie is out of this world.

Creamy, thick, and delicious


For the Pumpkin Pie Smoothie add 1 frozen banana, 1/2 cup canned pumpkin, 1 cup almond milk, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp sweetener of choice into a blender. Blend until creamy. Add 2 ice cubes and continue blending until you are left with a delicious, creamy smoothie.

It’s pretty cold in the morning, but I love having this smoothie as an afternoon or evening snack. It’s also great post workout and is packed with vitamins and nutrients to repair your muscles. I can’t get enough of this stuff and will probably be drinking it all Winter long.

Good to the last drop 🙂

For another unusual pumpkin recipe, I tried out Angela’s Garlic Pumpkin Knots. They looked and sounded so delicious that I have been wanting to make them for a while now. You can find the recipe here. The only change I made was using whole wheat flour instead of unbleached bread flour.

I have to say these look a lot better than they tasted. Maybe it was substituting the whole wheat flour? I’m not sure, but the bread itself was pretty tasteless. The garlic butter was delicious, but it didn’t provide the whole roll with flavor. So maybe I will add more seasonings next time or try them again with bread flour. I think there’s a lot of potential here, but I need to do some experimenting. The pumpkin does not add any flavor so if you aren’t a fan of pumpkin don’t be afraid of these. It will just help cut the fat and add moisture to the bread. Plus it adds Vitamin A and Vitamin C to the bread!

Cute, but back to the kitchen lab with this one...

Leave a Reply

