Forget all your preconceived thoughts about Brussels sprouts

Growing up I cannot remember ever having Brussels sprouts. I think I always thought I didn’t like them because of how gross other people made them sound. Brussels sprouts get a bad reputation and it keeps people from eating them even if they have never been tried. Well forget how you used to feel about Brussels sprouts because this recipe with change your life…seriously.

Even after never eating or making them, I couldn’t pass up this cool looking vegetable in Trader Joe’s yesterday.

I have also been told that buying them fresh on the stalk like this makes them so much tastier than buying frozen or otherwise. So, with my hesitation and with Chris’s skeptical self in the house I was very nervous about cooking these. I scoured the internet to research the best way to eat these tiny cabbage-like bundles. I think the reason so many people do not like Brussels sprouts is because they are typically served steamed and unseasoned. The vegetable itself can be pretty bitter, however, if cooked right and seasoned well, you end up with a flavorful and delicious side dish. The secret to the best Brussels sprouts? Pan frying or roasting them in the oven with lots of salt and seasoning. Salt is key here to really bring great flavor to the sprouts.


Pan roasted Brussels sprouts

Brussels sprouts on the stalk
olive oil
coarse kosher salt
fresh ground black pepper
1-2 Tbsp minced garlic
Parmesan cheese

Directions:
1. Remove the Brussels sprouts from the stalk and trim the stems. Remove any not so fresh and pretty outer leaves and cut in half length wise.
2. Place halved sprouts in a large bowl and toss with olive oil to coat well. Season with salt and pepper. Be generous with the salt. It may seem like you are using a lot, but trust me, salt is key here. I probably used a good 2 tsp on these.
3. Heat olive oil and minced garlic in a pan over medium heat. Pour the seasoned Brussels sprouts into the pan and place in even layer with cut side (flat side) down. Cover pan and cook for about 10 minutes.
4. After 10 minutes, toss sprouts to brown on other side, cover and cook for an additional 5 minutes.
5. Sprinkle with additional salt, fresh grated Parmesan cheese, and serve. I didn’t have any Parmesan cheese on hand so I used a little bit of Daiya vegan mozzarella cheese. Delish!

*These can also be made in a similar way by roasting them on a baking sheet in a 400F oven for about 20 minutes. Shake the pan to move them around a little and continue cooking until cooked through. Sprinkle with additional salt and enjoy!

These were phenomenal! I promise if you have hated Brussels sprouts in the past, you will not hate them anymore. Chris and I devoured these. I can’t wait to make them again. I might even switch up the recipe and add in a little balsamic vinegar as well. Yum! I am officially a lover of Brussels sprouts 🙂 Who would have guessed?

Leave a Reply

