Homemade Vegan Caesar Dressing

Who doesn’t love a nice Caesar salad? Especially prior to a warm, comforting meal. Mmmm….

However, normal Caesar dressing is loaded with fat, calories, and is composed of eggs and anchovies. So it is definitely not vegan friendly. Naturally, when the craving hit yesterday for a salad with a nice, creamy dressing, I decided to make my own πŸ™‚

I figured I could count on Tal Ronnen (the Conscious Cook) to help me out and I was right! This salad dressing was just as good as the original version, if not better.


Vegan Caesar Salad

Ingredients:
3 cloves garlic
1 Tbsp capers, drained
1 cup vegan mayonnaise
1 Tbsp white miso paste
2 Tbsp nutritional yeast flakes
1/2 Tbsp light agave nectar
1 cup olive oil
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
Romaine lettuce
Croutons

Directions:
1. In a food processor, mince the garlic and capers. Add the mayonnaise, miso paste, nutritional yeast, agave nectar, and 1/2 cup water and pulse to combine. With the motor running, slowly add the oil in a thin stream. Continue to blend until emulsified, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

2. Place lettuce and croutons in a large bowl. Drizzle the dressing over the top and toss well to coat.

Your guests will never know this salad is dressed with a vegan dressing. So good and much healthier than the original version. Healthy fats from the olive oil, Vitamin B12 from the nutritional yeast, and a touch of natural sweetener from the agave will make you wanting salads a lot more πŸ™‚

Sorry I was MIA yesterday. I have officially begun my baking for Christmas and I have been covered in flour for the past day and a half. I may need to clean my computer keyboard when I am done typing this πŸ˜‰

Stay tuned for my holiday baking recipes to start tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Vegan Caesar Dressing

Leave a Reply

