Holiday Baking Series

Yesterday I stated that I had been covered in flour the past couple of days. My kitchen has been a disaster and my fingers are permanently pruny from doing so many dishes. However, I feel that I have some pretty great holiday treats so share with you! So it was all worth it 🙂 (Although if anyone wants to come help scrape the remaining flour and cookie dough off the walls, I wouldn’t object)

I actually was a little apprehensive about doing my normal holiday baking this year. Every year I generally bake a variety of cookies and candies and give trays of treats to family and friends. However, this year is my first Christmas as a vegan. So, I was left with the dilemma of continuing my tradition of making all my normal cookies that everyone loves or creating new recipes that are vegan friendly. Thoughts of baking flops, wasted dough, and ending up with nothing to hand out consumed me.

Eventually I mustered up a little bit of confidence, read through a ton of different recipes, and sat down to create my game plan and write out a few recipe options. I am proud to say that I have six successful treats! Let’s start with the all time classic…the Gingerbread Man!

Gingerbread cookies are a favorite of mine and I promise that you won’t even be able to tell these are vegan.

Vegan Gingerbread Men

Ingredients:
3 cups all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 cup vegan butter (Earth Balance), room temperature
1/2 sugar
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
2/3 cup unsulphured molasses (spray measuring cup with cooking spray to prevent sticking)

Directions:
1. Combine dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda, and spices) and set aside.
2. Mix butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add pumpkin and molasses and mix until well combined.
3. Gradually add the flour mixture, beating until incorporated.
4. Divide the dough in half and wrap each half in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours or overnight.
5. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350F and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
6. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to about a 1/4 inch thick. Use a gingerbread man cookie cutter to cut the cookies. Using a flat spatula, transfer the cookies to the baking sheet. Repeat with remaining dough.
7. Bake cookies for 8-10 minutes or until edges are firm and beginning to brown. Cooking time may vary depending on how big you made your cookies.
8. Let cool and decorate as desired.


Check back tomorrow for more recipes!

Leave a Reply

