Juicy

I was so excited to open my Power Juicer from Chris on Christmas morning. I have been wanting one for a while. It’s weird because I am not usually a juice person. I don’t care for store bought juices. However, I love fresh squeezed juice. So the thought of a juicer appealed to me. Homemade juices where I control the ingredients and can combine fruits and vegetables with no additives. Mmmm…

With the hectic holiday schedule I haven’t had the chance to try out the Power Juicer until today. I read the instructions, gathered my juice ingredients, and got myself ready to juice. If you remember a while back, I posted about a juice I had from Northstar. They called it the Shooting Star and it consisted of oranges, carrots, ginger, and lemon. I was determined to recreate that $5 cup of juice at home. So this morning that is just what I did. I didn’t have any lemons, but it turned out just as good!


Look at all that pulp!


Carrot, orange, ginger juice


This juice was amazing. I am very pleased with the Power Juicer. The only downfall is the clean up. There are a lot of pieces to the appliance that need washed after used. So it might be a pain to use it frequently, but the health benefits of juicing make it worth it. If you are having trouble getting in your fruits and vegetables during the day and you don’t like the green smoothies, this is the way to go. In one cup I was able to take in two carrots, one orange, and a piece of ginger. You still get most of the vitamins and minerals from all the produce when you juice. The only thing you miss out on is the fiber from the fruits and veggies. So I would still recommend you eat whole food as well.

Do any of you use a juicer? If so, what are some of your favorite combinations?

Leave a Reply

