2011 New Year’s Resolutions

Setting New Year’s resolutions has always been a wishy washy topic for me. Generally if I do set them, they are vague in the sense of “lose weight”, “eat healthy”, “workout more”, etc. and the past couple of years I have stopped making them altogether. I’ve found that if I do make them, I either don’t commit myself to them or I start off strong and by February I have lost sight of what I set out to do. This year, I decided it was going to be different. There are many things I want to improve on in my life and things I would like to accomplish that in order to achieve them, I figured I needed to write them down. What better way to be held accountable than to blog about my resolutions for the world to see? This is a scary thought and I was very hesitant to share my 2011 goals with all of you, but nevertheless, here they are.

1) Stop living in the past and saying, “I wish I would have”. What’s done is done and I can’t change the choices I have made, but I can change the way I live my life now. Remember “You are who you want to be. You have the ability to write your own destiny.”

2) Create and maintain a healthy balance between food, exercise, and life. Believe it or not, I still struggle with finding a healthy balance in life. I’d like to believe that I have it all under control, but truth is, I’m still working on it. So I would like to use 2011 to continue to listen to my body, remove the guilt, and continue to find happiness within myself.

3) Finally lose those stubborn 10 pounds. Over the past couple of years, I have had 10 pounds that have taken up residence on my body. I have been saying that I’m going to work on losing them for quite some time now, so now I am making it a resolution to actually do it…for good. Hopefully this will go hand in hand with my #2 resolution and I will lose a steady 1-2 pounds per week just by feeding my body with healthy, whole food and finding balance.

4) Complete my first marathon. I ran my first half marathon a couple of years ago and I keep saying I want to run a full marathon “someday”. Well I am making it a resolution to run one this year. By October 2011 I want to train for, and run, my first marathon.

5) Continue my commitment to being a vegan. I started my transition to being a vegan in January of 2010. There have definitely been times when I have given in to eating cheese, seafood, or sweets that weren’t completely vegan, but I feel ok with that. I know there will continue to be times where I veer off track. My goal for 2011 is just to remember why the choice of being a vegan is important to me and continue my commitment to it.

6) Begin and maintain a gratitude journal. This is another personal development goal. I want to focus on being more positive and surrounding myself with positive people. So in an attempt to do so I have a goal to write in a gratitude journal at a minimum of 3 times per week.

7) Continue to write and blog. Blogging has reintroduced me to writing, which is something I greatly enjoy. I began blogging 11 months ago and have mainly focused on getting content up on a regular basis. In 2011 I would like to focus more on the quality of my writing over the quantity. That may mean that I miss a day here or there, but in doing so I hope that the quality of my writing will improve. I will also be expanding my blog into a full website sometime in the coming months!

8 ) Take a class to learn or further develop an interest or skill. During the upcoming year I would like to take a class or course in photography, writing, dance, or getting my group fitness teacher certification. The choice I make may be determined by availability and cost so I will keep you all updated after I look into each option a little further.

9) Find a job that I love. I am determined during 2011 to find work that inspires me and allows me to incorporate my passions. This may be one of the harder resolutions I am setting for the year ahead.

10) Continue to create new recipes and blog material. I would like to begin the makings of a cookbook by the end of 2011.

Having 10 resolutions makes me a little nervous, but I believe they are all doable and will only further me down my path to self discovery and make me a better person in the end. And I know I can count on all of you for support, right? 😉

What were some of the resolutions you set? Do you have any that are going to be a challenge?

I hope everyone’s New Year is off to a great start. Here’s to a wonderful 2011!

6 thoughts on “2011 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I just stumbled across your blog and I love it! One of my goals for the new year is to transition to a vegan diet as well, so I will be turning to your blog for inspiration I’m sure!
    Wishing you a happy new year 🙂

  2. Great list of ambitious yet accomplishable goals! Goal #9 – Finding a job that you’re passionate about – I have the same goal. And I totally second taking a photog course! Good luck with the marathon training – do you know which marathon you’re wanting to run?

    • Thanks! I am going to plan on doing the Columbus marathon in October, but I may spontaneously travel to another place for one. Not sure yet. Have you ran marathons? Any you would suggest?

      • I have not personally ran a marathon. But, my marathon friends seem to enjoy the Rock ‘n’ Roll series stating that the live bands at every mile helped motivate them! Disney marathons seem popular and fun as well.

Leave a Reply

