Falafel!


I am excited to report that third time really is the charm. I have not had very good success with falafel in the past, however, this recipe turned out pretty well. It’s not quite the same as if you were to order it from a Middle Eastern restaurant because I chose the healthier route and didn’t fry my falafel. However, this was pretty darn good. No more fala-fails for me 🙂

During my post holiday hangover, I usually turn to more convenience foods or takeout for dinners. It takes me a while to get back into the swing of things. So, instead I have been trying to recreate things I might send the delivery boy for. If you missed my Tofu “Fried” Rice, check it out here. Otherwise, skip down to the falafel goodness.

Falafel, if you are not familiar, is a Middle Eastern food that is often a favorite among vegetarians. It is made up of ground chick peas or fava beans, formed into balls or patties, and fried. Typically the falafel is stuffed into pitas and topped with mixed greens and a tahini sauce. I decided to revamp the delicious fried version and create a healthier pan-seared alternative. I also didn’t have any pita on hand so I improvised.

Trehop’s Falafel

Ingredients:
1 can chick peas, drained and rinsed
2 cloves minced garlic
3 Tbsp chick pea flour, or regular flour
2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
Juice of half of a lemon
1 tsp onion powder
1 Tbsp chili sauce or paste
1 Tbsp cumin
1 Tbsp ground coriander
1/4 cup almond milk
1/4-1/2 cup bread crumbs

Directions:
1. Coarsely grind chickpeas in a food processor. Add remaining ingredients, EXCEPT the milk and bread crumbs and pulse to combine.
2. Gradually add milk and bread crumbs until a soft dough forms.
3. Form into small patties and set aside.
4. Meanwhile, heat 2-3 Tbsp canola oil in a frying pan over medium heat.
5. Once the oil is hot, place falafel patties into pan and cook for about 5 minutes on each side, or until golden brown and cooked through.
6. Remove from pan and place on a paper towel to remove excess oil. Repeat with remaining patties.
7. Serve warm with pita bread (or bread of choice), tahini sauce or tzatziki sauce, and mixed greens.

Falafel sandwich with tzatziki and roasted red pepper hummus


Yum!


These turned out so good. They were so flavorful and the hint of chili sauce was a great addition. I, unfortunately, did not have any pita bread, so I improvised with what I had on hand. We ended up eating them stuffed between whole wheat Bagel Thins and topped with tzatziki and hummus. Another option would be to serve the falafel over salad, alongside tabbouleh, or over a bed of couscous. Yum!

5 thoughts on “Falafel!

  1. This looks awesome! I will have to try these patties with the avocado spread from the recipe I posted about. I like the flavor of the patties I’ve made in the past, but they don’t hold together well and make for a frustrating cooking experience! These look like they hold together really well… and they look delicious, of course 🙂

    • I’ve had the same problem with falafel. They either didn’t hold together well or the taste wasn’t right. These are the best ones so far, they hold together great and I love the taste! Your avocado spread would be delicious on these!

  2. Pingback: Healthy Super Bowl Eats « Trehops's Blog

Leave a Reply

