Baked Kale Chips

I have been having a craving for kale chips lately. I have tried them once and wasn’t that fond of them so I excluded them from the cycle of repeat meals. However, for some reason I have been wanting to revisit them again. So, I made it a point to pick up a bunch of kale at the grocery store. Today for lunch I decided to break out that bunch and give these crunchy leaves another try.

Thank goodness I did because these totally hit the spot. They were crunchy, salty and very filling. It was a great side dish to my baked tofu and gave me a meal I felt good about eating and being so full from.

Kale is such a nutritious green. If you aren’t a fan of kale I encourage you to try these kale chips. I guarantee you will see kale in a new light plus you will be getting protein, fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, iron and calcium. I do have a weakness for potato chips, but honestly, with less calories and more nutrition, I will take the kale version any day.

Baked Kale Chips (here are the measurements I used for my one serving side dish for lunch, but feel free to expand it for multiple people)

Ingredients:
3/4 cup kale, torn from stems and into bite sized pieces
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp kosher or sea salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375F. Place pieces of kale on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with seasonings. Using hands, mix kale until all pieces are lightly oiled and seasoned. Spread out on pan and bake for 15 minutes. The kale chips should be nice and crispy. Serve by themselves or with your favorite dipping sauce.

This is a nice basic version of the kale chips. Don’t be afraid to get creative with your spices!

3 thoughts on “Baked Kale Chips

  1. I LOVE kale chips! Dan and I have added them into our regular rotation of favorites go-to dishes ๐Ÿ™‚ The last time I made them I used Tuscan Kale instead of curly and it made for a more chip-like result.

  2. Pingback: Pick of the Week: Kale | The Lean Green Bean

Leave a Reply

