A new side

So far, today has been very productive for a Friday. It has also been a little lonely. Working from home, what may seem like a dream to some, does have its drawbacks. I don’t really get the day to day interactions that most people get and it can often make me feel isolated from the world. Normally, I can’t complain. With my trusty side-kick, Cooper, we get things done. Today, however, I felt like a mom dropping her kid off at school for the first time as I took Cooper to try out a doggie daycare in the area. I’ve heard a lot of good things about The City Dog, and we had a free daycare visit, so I thought I would have him try it out. It’ll be good to wear him out because although we ended up getting about five inches of snow yesterday, it’s only 15F outside…..not playing in the snow temperatures. So, today is filled with lots of cleaning and activities around the house that normally would have me tripping over my loyal side-kick.

When I finally sat down for lunch I was craving a huge salad (mostly because I wanted my vegan Caesar dressing). My salad was definitely not without a side-kick, as I baked up some delicious polenta nuggets! I had some polenta left over from dinner the other night, so I decided to chop it up and bake it in the oven until nice and crispy. Yum!

Polenta Nuggets
Ingredients:
precooked polenta ( I used precooked polenta from Trader Joe’s)
seasonings of choice
olive oil or olive oil non-stick spray

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375F and line a pan with parchment paper. Cut polenta into bit-sized cubes and spread out on pan. Drizzle with olive oil or spray with olive oil spray. Sprinkle seasonings of choice depending on what taste you are going for. I used Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle seasoning to give my nuggets a kick. Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes, flipping halfway. The polenta should become golden brown and crispy on the outside, but will still have a soft center. Serve nuggets with your favorite dipping sauce and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

