Recipe in the works

I have to tell you, last night I was completely thrilled to create and try a new recipe. Sometimes it’s the little things that get me through a Monday. However, things did not go as smoothly-planned as pictured in my head. That’s the joy of cooking though. Sometimes you fail, but it’s fun to create and experiment with new things 🙂

I sat down with my notebook and began writing out a recipe for vegan “meat”balls, which is something I have been wanting to try for a while. So I based my recipe on my Vegan Dinner Loaf and headed into the kitchen.

Unfortunately, my “meat”balls turned more into patties. Patties that were crisp on the outside, but completely uncooked in the center. I only cooked up half of the mixture and popped the rest of it in the fridge in frustration.

Today I pulled out that mixture and decided to add a few things to it in hopes that it would save the recipe. I cooked up the rest to have for lunch and they turned out pretty well! The texture was pretty good, but the taste left a little to be desired. So, I’ll be revisiting this recipe in the near future in order to perfect it. I don’t like to do things halfway so before I share the recipe with you, I want to make sure it is just right 🙂

For now here are some photos of my lunch today. I decided to make a little “meat”ball appetizer plate and topped a few with tomato sauce and a few with hummus. These would definitely make great hors d’oeuvres, but would also be great as “meat”ball subs or served with a side of spaghetti!

Ready to be baked!





So I may have ruined dinner and we may have ended up eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with salad, but as least I got dessert right. I made a recipe that I wanted to make sometime over the holiday season and never did. So, I figured I still needed to try this one out while winter was still hanging around and I was still craving the spices of pumpkin and gingerbread. Angela made this a couple months ago and it stuck with me. I love gingerbread and fell in love with my vegan gingerbread cookies this Christmas. So, I knew I definitely had to give this Iced Pumpkin Gingerbread loaf a try and it was worth the wait. Soooo good! Chris doesn’t really care for gingerbread, but absolutely loved this. You can find the recipe on Angela’s site. The only changes I made was using whole wheat flour instead of white and I used canned, pureed butternut squash instead of pumpkin because that was all I had. The results were incredible!

We are completely iced in today so I’m trying to keep myself busy around the house and from eating this entire loaf in one sitting…

Leave a Reply

