No-Fuss, Lazy-Girl’s Wild Rice and Mushroom Risotto


Saturdays and Sundays are hit or miss for me. They either equal a way too pepped up (i.e. caffeinated) Tracey, who jumps out of bed ready to make the most of the weekend….or they consist of no motivation, not showering until 6pm, and creating a permanent indentation of my butt in the couch. This weekend (and a lot of weekends during the winter) consisted of more of the latter. I did manage to get out of the house for a bit yesterday and hang out with my friend. We enjoyed a nice half hour walk and lunch from one of my favorite eateries, Northstar Cafe. I really must learn the secret to their hot cereal that they have there! However, the remainder of the day gave way to more couch-sitting and movie watching. I blame it on the crazy sleet/snow we had. By the time evening rolled around, I was not in the mood for cooking, but in an effort to save money I forced myself into the kitchen to see what I could create with the least amount of effort. Some type of grain or pasta is usually a good go to, no fuss meal so I chose wild rice and decided to throw in some leftover mushrooms and olives into the simmering pot as well. The result was like a risotto that I had slaved over for an hour!

No-Fuss, Lazy-Girl’s Wild Rice and Mushroom Risotto
Ingredients:
1 cup wild rice (you could use other rice, but I like the different textures and fiber load in the wild varietal)
2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1/2 cup sliced black olives
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
1/4 cup tomato sauce (optional)
fresh ground black pepper

Directions:
1. Place vegetable broth, wild rice, mushrooms, olives, garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper into a pot. Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer, cover and simmer for 40-50 minutes.
2. After about 40 minutes, stir in the tomato sauce and nutritional yeast. Cover and continue to cook for another 10 minutes.
3. Stir and adjust seasonings as necessary. I added a little more black pepper. The tomato sauce isn’t necessary, but I liked the extra flavor it added to the dish.

I was shocked by how well this turned out. In my lazy stupor I threw a bunch of things into a pot, crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. This wasn’t being made as a recipe to share with all of you, but it turned out so well, I just had to! So next time you are having a lazy day and don’t have the energy to stand in the kitchen preparing a meal, I suggest this dish. Easy, filling, comforting, and healthy šŸ™‚

Enjoy your Sunday everyone!

3 thoughts on “No-Fuss, Lazy-Girl’s Wild Rice and Mushroom Risotto

Leave a Reply

