Looking Back


One year ago I decided to make a change. To take a chance, step outside my comfort zone, and to rediscover who I was. Today I want to take the time to celebrate my one year anniversary with this blog. Looking back, it’s hard to believe that one year has already gone by. It has introduced me to new interests, taught me to revisit old passions and I’ve even met some great people along the way.

At the start of 2010 Chris mentioned to me that I should start a blog. It was an idea he was toying with at the time and thought it would be a good outlet for me. Thinking the idea was crazy, I brushed it off. How could I write down my thoughts, feelings, and ramblings for the whole world to see?? No way, I thought. However, with a little more coercing, I decided to take a chance on it and in February 2010 Trehops’s Blog was born. With doing this, I not only took a chance on the blog, but I was also taking a chance on myself. To prove to myself that I could write and create, two things I love, and share it with people everyday. What I found was something I never expected. I loved it! I love writing, interacting with people around the world, and the feeling that we are all connected.

Not only was I finding that I loved writing, but at the time the blog started, I was also making other changes in my life. This was the time when I chose to be vegan. Having the blog while I was transitioning into a vegan lifestyle couldn’t have been more perfect. It allowed me to explore this new life and share my passion with others. I suddenly felt….good. Blogging and becoming vegan have opened my eyes beyond the world that I once knew. I have faced setbacks with both ventures, but experimenting and sometimes failing, although it might not seem like it at the time, is the best part of the journey. Failure is not a time to focus on the mistake, but an opportunity for growth and to become better.

So, today I am not only celebrating my blog, but I am celebrating everything I have accomplished along with it. Thank you to my readers who continue to support me along this journey. I hope to continue to offer up interesting and informative topics, provide you with healthy and wholesome recipes, and amuse you with my various literary ramblings 🙂

3 thoughts on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

