Rain Rain Go Away

Hello Monday (in my Jerry Seinfeld to Newman voice)

How was everyone’s weekend? Mine ended up being pretty relaxing and I even was able to see my parents! I haven’t seen them since Christmas! Sad, I know. We only live two hours apart, yet we still only see each other every couple of months. It was nice to hang out and catch up. However, as I said good-bye to the ‘rents this weekend, I also said good-bye to the warm, spring-like weather we were having last week. I woke up this morning to pouring rain, dark skies and temperatures around 30F. As if Mondays weren’t hard enough to get out of bed for!

I knew I needed something warm and comforting to start my day. Hot oats was on the menu. I’m still trying to make the perfect bowl of oatmeal. Mine are usually pretty good, however, if anyone has ever been to Northstar Cafe and had their hot cereal, you’ll understand my desire for perfect oats. I tried using a grain blend like Northstar does. It’s a mixture of Wheat, Oat, Barley, and Rye that I found at Trader Joe’s and while cooking on the stove, I add in a little vanilla, cinnamon, and mashed banana. After cooking, I top it off with various items such as almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, pecans, walnuts, blueberries, etc. It depends on what mood I’m in, but feel free to go crazy and create a mixture of everything! In my opinion, toppings are a must when it comes to oatmeal.

Good bowl of oatmeal, but not perfect yet...

For lunch I met up with Chris’s mom at Brioso for some warm soup. It was definitely a soup day and Brioso is definitely the place to go. It was my first time there, but I can’t wait to go back. They offer a variety of soups that change daily, along with sandwiches and other goodies. I decided on the Mushroom Barley and it was incredible. A bowl of warm, comfort from the cold rain, soup that also offered a little kick of spice. It’ll warm you up and clear out your sinuses! I can’t wait to go back to try one of their other varieties. Fortunately, or unfortunately, winter is still hanging around for a while, so there is still time for plenty of soup days. For those in the Columbus, OH area, I would definitely recommend Brioso for an inexpensive, and healthy, lunch.

As far as workouts go, today has not been the most motivating day as the cold and darkness make me want to curl up and nap all day. Also, due to my circuit training workout yesterday (these are seriously butt-kicking workouts), I’m feeling some soreness today so I opted for a light pilates workout and called it a day.

I hope everyone else is enjoying their start to the week, and if you had off work today, then lucky you! I’m off to run some errands. If only my car could turn into boat to get me through this monsoon!

4 thoughts on “Rain Rain Go Away

Leave a Reply

